Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-10-2011, 09:19 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 105

one or two sources?

Hi. On a recent electrical project I successfully installed three way switches for a a ceiling light in a walk through closet with one switch at each entrance, and I felt secure in understanding the logic of the configuration. And the project after that I successfully wired a double gangbox with one source for two single switches which included a through source to another independently
operated light and switch and I understood the logic of this configuration.

However, I'm still new at this and I need someone to point me in the correct direction on this next project: Light at bottom of stairs, light at top of stairs; both will be operated independently and each will have a set of three way switches, one at the bottom and one at the top of the stairs. The three way switches will be housed in pairs together in double gangboxes at top and bottom of stairs. Because of limited depth, I'll be working with 25 cubic inch boxes (11/12). I'll be working with 12/2 and of course 12/3 wire.

QUESTION: Can I power these two independently operating sets of three way switches with one in source wire, or do I need, even if from same circuit line, two different source wires, one for each independent 3-way switch configuration.

Just telling me that it is possible to use the one source wire will give me the impetus to maybe figure it out; but any further advice on the configuration would be gladly gleaned!

Gee, afterthought here: Surely it can be powered by one source.......do I just do an extra pigtail at the first entrance of source to feed the two different three way switch circuits?

Thanks,
James

Last edited by DiegoJames; 01-10-2011 at 09:29 PM. Reason: realized more about the question
DiegoJames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 09:31 PM   #2
Master Electrician