Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-26-2008, 03:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Okotoks, Alberta
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

one switch with 3 potlights


I am in the process of running the wires in my unfinished basement. I am aware that the max. fixtures (plugs and lights) is 12, tho recomended is 8-10. My question is if I have 7 plugs can I run a single switched light with 3 potlights run off it? Or will each potlight count as one?


Thanks in advance!

rellik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 04:43 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,151
Rewards Points: 518
Default

one switch with 3 potlights


Each potlight will count as 1 in your count of 12.

Switches do not count toward your total, and a light with 5 lights in it(i.e a chandelier) is considered one not 5.

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 06:21 PM   #3
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

one switch with 3 potlights


Quote:
Originally Posted by rellik View Post
I am in the process of running the wires in my unfinished basement. I am aware that the max. fixtures (plugs and lights) is 12, tho recomended is 8-10. My question is if I have 7 plugs can I run a single switched light with 3 potlights run off it? Or will each potlight count as one?


Thanks in advance!

12 is not the max fixtures on a circuit.
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 06:33 PM   #4
Electrician's Helper
 
Pudge565's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 202
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via AIM to Pudge565
Default

one switch with 3 potlights


There is no limit as to how many recepticals are on a circuit. The recommended amount is 10 for a 15 amp circuit an 12 for a 20 amp. Please note however that you can only load the breaker to 80% of rated capacity.
Pudge565 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 06:39 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

one switch with 3 potlights


Quote:
Originally Posted by Pudge565 View Post
Please note however that you can only load the breaker to 80% of rated capacity.
Where is that code located?
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 06:40 PM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

one switch with 3 potlights


Quote:
Originally Posted by rellik View Post
I am aware that the max. fixtures (plugs and lights) is 12, tho recomended is 8-10.
Who told you that nonsense?
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 06:42 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

one switch with 3 potlights


Quote:
Originally Posted by Pudge565 View Post
The recommended amount is 10 for a 15 amp circuit an 12 for a 20 amp.
Who's recommending this? Its just a bad opinion if you ask me.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 07:08 PM   #8
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

one switch with 3 potlights


Quote:
Originally Posted by dSilanskas View Post
12 is not the max fixtures on a circuit.
In Canada, it is.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 07:09 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

one switch with 3 potlights


Quote:
Originally Posted by Pudge565 View Post
There is no limit as to how many recepticals are on a circuit. The recommended amount is 10 for a 15 amp circuit an 12 for a 20 amp. Please note however that you can only load the breaker to 80% of rated capacity.
Are you sure? Check the location of the OP.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 07:12 PM   #10
Member
 
dSilanskas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Posts: 474
Rewards Points: 250
Default

one switch with 3 potlights


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
In Canada, it is.

Ohhh is the OP from Canada? If so my mistake
dSilanskas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 07:27 PM   #11
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

one switch with 3 potlights


Quote:
Originally Posted by Pudge565 View Post
There is no limit as to how many recepticals are on a circuit. The recommended amount is 10 for a 15 amp circuit an 12 for a 20 amp. Please note however that you can only load the breaker to 80% of rated capacity.
Pudge, check your book again. In the United States, under the NEC, the 80% factor applies to continuous to lighting circuits and other continuous loads. That is, a load that is expected to be on for 3 hours or more. Receptacles are allowed to be loaded to 100% of the circuit capacity, as long as it is a receptacle-only circuit.

The OP is in Canada, therefore, the code there allows a maximum of 12 outlets.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 07:27 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

one switch with 3 potlights


Isn't pot illegal in Canada?
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 07:45 PM   #13
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

one switch with 3 potlights


Are there not any Canadian DIY sites?
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 08:40 PM   #14
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

one switch with 3 potlights


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Are there not any Canadian DIY sites?
There's at least one Canadian poster here that provides sound advice. The codes are similar enough that most are interchangeable.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2008, 10:17 PM   #15
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

one switch with 3 potlights


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
There's at least one Canadian poster here that provides sound advice. The codes are similar enough that most are interchangeable.
Yeah, till you get a thread like this, I forgot to check the location of the OP, I hate when I do that.

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3-Way Switch Wiring MrBill_DIY Electrical 8 09-07-2008 06:53 PM
old wire, backfed switch question Jack A. Trades Electrical 6 07-03-2008 12:05 PM
changing a fixture to an outlet - keeping the switch aweshucks Electrical 4 12-27-2007 06:06 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 02:19 AM
Detached garage adding a 3 way switch. Slatherd Electrical 4 01-02-2006 03:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.