Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-29-2010, 10:36 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 83
Share |
Talking

One source, two switches AND a through power/source


I believe I understand how to connect two switches in a double switch box with one power source. (All whites together, incoming black hot is wired nutted to two black branches each going to a switch. The black hot continues through each switch via connection to blacks from the separate light units. All grounds are nutted together but with two added branches one each to the ground connection on the switch, I'm using a plastic box.) BUT, TO THIS CONFIGURATION I also want one source out to go to one more nearby light which will have a switch in a different single switch box. How to I create a through wire out of the double switch box in this situation? Do I simply just add the black, white and grounds of the through/out wire to the respective group nuttings of each color? Thanks.

DiegoJames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 10:38 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,747
Default

One source, two switches AND a through power/source


Quote:
Originally Posted by DiegoJames View Post
I believe I understand how to connect two switches in a double switch box with one power source. (All whites together, incoming black hot is wired nutted to two black branches each going to a switch. The black hot continues through each switch via connection to blacks from the separate light units. All grounds are nutted together but with two added branches one each to the ground connection on the switch, I'm using a plastic box.) BUT, TO THIS CONFIGURATION I also want one source out to go to one more nearby light which will have a switch in a different single switch box. How to I create a through wire out of the double switch box in this situation? Do I simply just add the black, white and grounds of the through/out wire to the respective group nuttings of each color? Thanks.


Thats how you do it.
You must make sure the box is large enough for the extra wires.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
DiegoJames (10-29-2010)
Old 11-14-2010, 10:34 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 83
Cool

One source, two switches AND a through power/source


Thanks jbfan:
It in and working!
DiegoJames is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
two switches, two sets of lights one power source agsurfer Electrical 2 09-12-2010 09:23 AM
Question about wiring and voltage with switches and lights rswurth Electrical 17 06-20-2010 11:12 PM
Question about switches on a 20 amp circuit Abs777 Electrical 6 04-28-2010 10:09 AM
Bathroom Lighting From One Source to two switches Michblaze02 Electrical 4 11-16-2009 05:10 AM
Need help replacing switches in four-way circuit magnolia Electrical 3 05-09-2008 09:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.