Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-13-2012, 06:30 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

One outlet won't work


I have a bathroom with 2 outlets in it one is a GFI and the other isn't. The GFI is not tripped and provides electricity. The other without the GFI does not work. From one of your videos and looking on google I have taken them out and they are connected (the GFI provides power to the non GFI). The GFI does not test/reset, but still has power.

Is it just a bad GFI that I can replace myself or a bigger problem that I should call a professional on?

gsensel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 06:41 PM   #2
bbo
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Packerland !!
Posts: 1,016
Rewards Points: 500
Default

One outlet won't work


Quote:
Originally Posted by gsensel View Post
I have a bathroom with 2 outlets in it one is a GFI and the other isn't. The GFI is not tripped and provides electricity. The other without the GFI does not work. From one of your videos and looking on google I have taken them out and they are connected (the GFI provides power to the non GFI). The GFI does not test/reset, but still has power.

Is it just a bad GFI that I can replace myself or a bigger problem that I should call a professional on?
I'm no electrician, but if a GFCI does not trip with the test button, it certainly should be replaced.

You are not working on this with live wires, are you?

bbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 06:42 PM   #3
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,300
Rewards Points: 506
Default

One outlet won't work


Quote:
The GFI does not test/reset, but still has power
That's a problem. If it won't test, then it won't trip and is as good as nothing.

What wires are on the back of the GFI? And on what terminals? (pictures are better than words, but words are better than nothing )
jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 06:47 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,437
Rewards Points: 2,188
Default

One outlet won't work


start by replacing gfi.....TURN OFF POWER 1ST....
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 06:47 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,987
Rewards Points: 3,090
Default

One outlet won't work


Are the lines going to that outlet connected to the load side of the GFI?
It will say load on the back side.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 08:08 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,859
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

One outlet won't work


Some older model gfci's would disconnect the downstream power, but would stay hot themselves.

Newer ones will not reset if the power is not correctly connected.

Replace the gfci and test again.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (01-13-2012)
Old 01-13-2012, 09:39 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

One outlet won't work


Recheck your line and load before replacing.
Jdizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 03:41 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

One outlet won't work


I will try pictures and words. The BOTTOM screws have Line and the TOP have Load. There are 2 black wires connected to the RIGHT side 2 white wires connected to the LEFT side. All directions are looking straight at outlet.

http://twitpic.com/87c31g
http://twitpic.com/87c43x

The house is about 100 years old and a previous owner did work on it their selves. Given the way other things are done it would not surprise me if something is wrong. They were the type who give DIYers a bad name.

And just to clarify the power was off when I had the plug out getting the pictures and I had the power on when trying to test/resest.

Last edited by gsensel; 01-14-2012 at 04:01 PM.
gsensel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 09:39 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

One outlet won't work


I am going to be out today, so I am going to stop by a hardware store and get a GFI outlet and Outlet/GFI tester.
gsensel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 09:58 AM   #10
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,681
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

One outlet won't work


Quote:
Originally Posted by gsensel View Post
I am going to be out today....
While you're there pick up a non contact tester... or better yet get a basic analog VOM which is about the same cost and always useful to have around.

When you get home you'll need to determine which of those two pairs of wires (B&W) in that box is always hot. They'll go on the "line" side terminals of the new GFI.

Last edited by TarheelTerp; 01-15-2012 at 10:01 AM.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 07:20 PM   #11
bbo
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Packerland !!
Posts: 1,016
Rewards Points: 500
Default

One outlet won't work


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
While you're there pick up a non contact tester... or better yet get a basic analog VOM which is about the same cost and always useful to have around.

When you get home you'll need to determine which of those two pairs of wires (B&W) in that box is always hot. They'll go on the "line" side terminals of the new GFI.
better yet, get two. that way you'll always have one with batteries. they really aren't expensive. I tend to overdo it with safety equipment.
bbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 12:47 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

One outlet won't work


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post

When you get home you'll need to determine which of those two pairs of wires (B&W) in that box is always hot. They'll go on the "line" side terminals of the new GFI.
I did pick one up. Work until Friday, so haven't done anything yet. Not sure how to do this part.
gsensel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 12:00 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

One outlet won't work


Ok I got a tester, and the GFI is wired correctly according to it, but the GIF did not trip so I will replace it. The other plug when I put the tester in showed no lights which I assume to mean no power. I put it in another outlet and it gave the lights for correct, so am I correct that the outlet not working is not getting power?

If my thought is correct does that mean it would need to be rewired or will replacing the GFI possibly fix the issue?
gsensel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 12:06 AM   #14
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

One outlet won't work


Quote:
Originally Posted by gsensel
Ok I got a tester, and the GFI is wired correctly according to it, but the GIF did not trip so I will replace it. The other plug when I put the tester in showed no lights which I assume to mean no power. I put it in another outlet and it gave the lights for correct, so am I correct that the outlet not working is not getting power?

If my thought is correct does that mean it would need to be rewired or will replacing the GFI possibly fix the issue?
If the gfi doesnt trip it MUST be replaced, hopefully that will resolve the other issue however if it doesn't come back.
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 10:11 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

One outlet won't work


After taking the old GFI out and putting the new one in (wired the same way) I had no power to either outlet. So I thought I had a wire on bad (used curved method to the screw, and my ground fell of after barely touching. I then trimmed and used the holes, but still had no power.

Even though I was not keen on the idea of having live wires out where I would be near them I turned the power on and check for which was the hot set. Upon doing this I found out the hot were going to the load side (again I did not install it the first time)

So I switched the load and line and it powered up just fine, showed it was wired correctly and GFI tripped, and now the other outlet works.

This just nails home my opinion that if you are going to DIY be sure and have knowledge or Google it before trying. Thanks for all your help!

gsensel is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gsensel For This Useful Post:
bbo (01-22-2012)
Reply

Tags
bad outlet, bathroom, electrical, gfi


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outlet before light switch; Open Neutral? Fox Electrical 21 09-26-2010 08:38 PM
Outlet neutral bonded to ground? rjniles Electrical 1 07-19-2008 11:12 AM
Help Help richie02 Electrical 7 06-17-2008 08:42 AM
Adding new ceiling light in place of switched outlet XavierG35 Electrical 2 02-13-2008 09:05 PM
Wiring a switch, power from outlet Big Bill Electrical 4 09-15-2007 03:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.