One Out Of 4 - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2008, 06:00 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Question

one out of 4


hello every one my name is Diane and i am stumped over this one... I have been working at this woman's house doing a number of things . one of which was to put up 4 recess lights and the are all wired from the same run of wire and are attached to a three way switch ( the existing switch ) there were two larger can lights which were taken down. and all new wiring was used.toggle the switch 5-6 times or thereof and the 4th light goes out and wont come back on. home owner is with holding a very large check until it is working properly. now b-4 you guys go off with the typical man grunting i have replaced the light fixture and checked for loose wiring or damaged wire nothing . switch has power no shorts , i can't figure it out ..... Any one willing to help me out.


Diane


Advertisement

miss pink drill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 06:43 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

one out of 4


Quote:
Originally Posted by miss pink drill View Post
now b-4 you guys go off with the typical man grunting i have replaced the light fixture and checked for loose wiring or damaged wire nothing . switch has power no shorts , i can't figure it out .....

This is not exactly the best way to ask for help now is it?

I'll start with my typical man grunt rant:
Are you an electrician?
Are you licensed to do electrical work?
Are you insured to do electrical work for a fee?????
I am of the strong opinion that handymen, or handywomen in your case, should NOT touch electrical work. Even "light electrical" as is so popular to advertise.


OK, now that the rant is over:
Is there insulation above these cans?
Are the cans IC rated?
Is it just that one can that goes out?
Did you check the connections in the can wired just before the problem one?

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 09:08 AM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,376
Rewards Points: 3,546
Blog Entries: 4
Default

one out of 4


I'm not sure I understand the problem. The light comes on? You flip the switch on/off several times(why) and then it won't come back on?
What type of light? What do you do to get it work again? The other three lights work OK. How were the lights wired?
When the fixture is not working have you checked for voltage at the fixture? voltage to ground? voltage to neutral?

Last edited by joed; 11-06-2008 at 09:13 AM.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 11:48 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

one out of 4


Go bake me some cookies and I'll help you out.

Bring me a beer too.


One light in the middle of the circuit should be simple to troubleshoot.You obviously have hot/neutral going in and out of it so the issue is:

A) The leads to the socket are completely connected to the romex.

B) The thermal protection thingy is faulty (or doing it's job)

C) The lamp is not screwed in tightly.

My vote is for B...or A.

If it's C, don't even come back here.


PS. You also need to explain the circuitry better. There may be issues somewhere else. It could be as simple as a occaisionally faulty switch. If you replace the switches, make note of the common wire so you are not back here asking about 3way switches

Last edited by 220/221; 11-06-2008 at 11:52 AM.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 12:05 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

one out of 4


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
It could be as simple as a occaisionally faulty switch. If you replace the switches, make note of the common wire so you are not back here asking about 3way switches
Yes, Yes and YES. Please mark any wires you remove from switches, fixtures and receptacles. You will not believe how many people have been here just for this reason. Mark each wire and make note where they go. Good Luck.

Check the thermal cutoff in the fixture. Bypass it and see if the problem goes away.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 09:03 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

one out of 4


If it is the thermal cutoff (like J. V. said) you could bypass it (for testing), if it is faulty you MUST get a new fixture.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 09:26 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

one out of 4


Quote:
i have replaced the light fixture and checked for loose wiring
Replaced it without testing it?

Splendid.


Where's my beer dammit? And why is my text pink?

Advertisement

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts