Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2013, 05:36 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 255
Share |
Default

one messed up panel


one messed up panel-imag0491.jpg

one messed up panel-imag0496.jpgJust got the place and there are several violation I I'll need to clear up,not to mention may have to move panel. Is is required when I cap off or disengag circuit that I move live circuits to top and cover plates below or is it OK to let them remain capped off?
Its seimans breakers .
It had baseboard heater circuits now no longer used.
Any info on it is appreciated.


Last edited by hidden1; 05-11-2013 at 05:46 PM.
hidden1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 05:39 PM   #2
Member
 
eastcoastsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Pennsauken, NJ
Posts: 182
Default

one messed up panel


Why do you hav to move the panel? Where is it located? Add you location to your profile. And yes it does matter

eastcoastsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 05:44 PM   #3
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,567
Default

one messed up panel


Is your issue that you want to remove the breaker and the feeds to your formerly used baseboard heaters?
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 05:47 PM   #4
Member
 
eastcoastsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Pennsauken, NJ
Posts: 182
Default

one messed up panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by MTN REMODEL LLC
Is your issue that you want to remove the breaker and the feeds to your formerly used baseboard heaters?
I think he wants to know when you remove the circuits that are at the top of the panel if it is required to move lower circuits up to that position and to install blanks for the repositioned breakers
eastcoastsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 05:48 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 255
Default

one messed up panel


It has central heat/air so i m sure they are no longer needed/used
hidden1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 05:51 PM   #6
Member
 
eastcoastsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Pennsauken, NJ
Posts: 182
Default

one messed up panel


So what is your actual question?
eastcoastsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 05:58 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 255
Default

one messed up panel


Will I have to move the operative circuits up and the disengaged to bottom,capped off?
And what gauge/amp wire are usually used in baseboard heating?.I will have to set up a seperate circuit for disposal and another for possible over stove microwave also.

Last edited by hidden1; 05-11-2013 at 06:05 PM.
hidden1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 06:20 PM   #8
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,933
Default

one messed up panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by hidden1 View Post
Will I have to move the operative circuits up and the disengaged to bottom,capped off?
And what gauge/amp wire are usually used in baseboard heating?.I will have to set up a seperate circuit for disposal and another for possible over stove microwave also.
Try re-posting when you are sober
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 06:28 PM   #9
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,567
Default

one messed up panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by hidden1 View Post
Will I have to move the operative circuits up and the disengaged to bottom,capped off?
And what gauge/amp wire are usually used in baseboard heating?.I will have to set up a seperate circuit for disposal and another for possible over stove microwave also.
Caveat.. I'm not a sparky and not always (often) up to date on codes. I only answer so one of our sparkys can correct me

To the best of my knowledge: You do not have to rearrange or move lower breakers to the top, if that is your question. (In my jurisdiction, you do have to have all your main shutoff's ,less than 6... when you do not have a master... at the top). (Also, you do want to keep somewhat a balance between your two legs)

Disconnect your breaker feeds and neatly wire cap/label them and leave them in your panel for future use if you want.

You do not have to remove your breaker... but if you do... put the plastic blank in.

Your baseboards can be fed by various AWG wire, depending primarily on whether your running them 240 or 120... and some other factors. When you disconnect them, look at them and read the print on them.

I'm confused about your disposal microwave issue.

Good luck
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 06:38 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 255
Default

one messed up panel


Currently the disposal is on same circuit as kitchen plug which is a violation.also I'm going to install a over the oven microwave(requires dedicated circuit 20 amp) .would like to use circuit that is no longer used for baseboard heater. So I can cap off the rest of unused baseboard circuits and leave in place then ,then put a cover plate over it?
Thanks for the info

Last edited by hidden1; 05-11-2013 at 06:42 PM.
hidden1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 08:01 PM   #11
Architectural Sculptor
 
RWolff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA, Midwest
Posts: 765
Default

one messed up panel


I don't think you have to move the in use breakers all to the top, though it might LOOK neater and be easier to see, but if you remove unused breakers you need to cover those holes with those blank covers so someone can't accidentally stick a finger in the hole- think of fumbling in the dark trying to find the breaker that tripped and you can see why you wouldn't want any way to accidentally get fingers in.
RWolff is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to RWolff For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (05-12-2013)
Old 05-12-2013, 08:33 AM   #12
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,365
Default

one messed up panel


When you disconnect the baseboards you can leave the breakers in place to fill the holes that would be present in the panel cover. No need to move the other breakers up. If you remove the cable then the holes in the side of the panel will need plugs installed.
If you need to add a new circuit then you can remove an unused breaker and put you new circuits in that slot.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
usair (05-12-2013)
Old 05-12-2013, 11:29 AM   #13
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,782
Default

one messed up panel


gtfooh

Last edited by beenthere; 05-12-2013 at 11:37 AM. Reason: Removed spam quote
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (05-12-2013)
Old 05-12-2013, 11:39 AM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,489
Default

one messed up panel


Please don't quote the spam. Doing so could get you accidentally banned as a spammer, if we don't notice its just a quote. We don't actually read the spam post. We just click the box, delete and ban.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 02:17 PM   #15
Member
 
bobgodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 102
Default

one messed up panel


If he removes the breaker for the heaters, but cannot remove the wire, what is the proper way to terminate the wire?

bobgodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub panel to sub panel feeding tvfd27 Electrical 1 08-21-2012 03:01 PM
Section 310.15(B)(6) vs. 210.4. Don't assume, call your friendly AHJs! Daneel Electrical 3 04-11-2012 07:24 AM
Garage Sub Panel Questions mscanlon01 Electrical 3 07-20-2011 10:03 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.