Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-04-2012, 10:50 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

one light on two circuits


Hello,

I got a great light from Turkey that I'm hanging over my kitchen sink. Right now it is tied in to the same 3-way circuit as my can lights. I can hook it up to my under cabinet circuit (1-way, dimming) and it would look really neat at night. However, I'd like to have it hooked up to both - if that is possible.

Basically, I'd like that light to go on when either circuit is switched on. I realize that this might not work and there will have to be some logic built in, but believe it or not, this is the second time I've wanted this. The other situation is turning one can on in the basement at the bottom of the stairs when the stair 4-way is turned on, but also having that can be turned on when it's brother cans in the basement are turned on and off.

Ideas?

justynbaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 11:34 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,530
Default

one light on two circuits


Not possible. If the new fixture is tied into both switches then all the lights would come on at the same time.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 12:24 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Default

one light on two circuits


I know it's not possible by simply hooking them up. I was however thinking of the possibility of having some sort of relay mechanism. Some sort of a switch that would carry current to the light when turned on while disconnecting the other "off" circuit, and vice versa.
justynbaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 06:17 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,946
Default

one light on two circuits


Note that if you want the ceiling can lights to remain completely independent of the under counter lights, then you will need two relays to do as you described.

With just one relay, turning on the can lights will light up both the under counter lights and the sink light while turning on the under counter lights only would not have to light up the can lights.

Part of the challenge is finding a place to put the relays, which may not be buried in the wall. All in all, it will be much cheaper to put the sink light on its own switch and not bother with coordinated operation using relays.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 11-05-2012 at 06:42 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 06:21 AM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

one light on two circuits


Make sure each of the switches are on the same leg of the service.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 09:43 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Default

one light on two circuits


The good news is that the pendant light comes out of an above the sink cabinet so accessible room for wizardry is not a problem. Putting on another switch would be difficult. Do you have any ideas on product names for such relays?
justynbaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 10:05 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NY
Posts: 92
Default

one light on two circuits


You may be able to accomplish what you want with home automation systems which allow you to create lighting "scenes" and control them from special hard-wired or wireless switches. Do some research.
sixspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 01:40 PM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,530
Default

one light on two circuits


It is usually not worth the effort. Just instal another set of switches for the new light.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Light fan burn out, wall switch backwards later LOYD DUNCAN Electrical 1 09-18-2012 06:49 AM
Wiring a Shed light & internal power DJDesq Electrical 4 08-12-2012 08:12 PM
Adding 2 more lights to existing light BCH_COLIN Electrical 7 01-24-2011 11:04 AM
Motion Light tripping GFCI? Jonobp Electrical 5 09-07-2009 07:52 PM
Hot Light Outlets Materials Guru Electrical 5 07-31-2006 07:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.