Older Home -- Open Ground Issues, Please Help - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2008, 03:22 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Older home -- Open Ground issues, please help


I will try to make my long story short! Thanks in advance for any help.

I went to replace an old "front porch" light for my folks. As i was unscrewing the old light, i noticed "tiny" sparks when the light fixture rubbed against the siding of the house (Light switch turned off).

Existing light was extremely old (from the late 70's) and apparently did not have a ground on it (ground cable from the light switch was coiled up behind light fixture, but not attached.)

I noticed that the light tester lit up (showing constant current) when i touched the ground with it.

The circuit in question appears to have 5 outlets, 2 overhead lights (bedrooms), a switch to (and) light on front porch and another switch to a single outlet (making a total of 6 outlets.)

2 outlets on the circuit show that they are wired correctly and the ground wires to those 2 outlets show no power. But for every other switch/outlet they are showing current on the ground wire and an open ground when i plug my little tester into the outlet.

The ground leaving the Panel box for that circuit, shows no current like the grounds for the overhead lighting fixtures, some of the outlets and the switches.

I replaced (4) outlets (not the ones that tested correctly) and (3) of the (4) switches.

In the one room there is a florescent overhead lamp that was previously installed. I noticed that it does not appear to be grounded, didn't even see a ground cable on the fixture. Could this be my problem? All the other grounds in that junction box are all wire nutted together.

What could possibly be the issue?

Why would 2 of the 6 outlets work correctly?

Why am i getting a constant current on my ground wires, except for the (2) correctly working receptacles?

I spent a few hours chasing this gremlin down, but it just got to late to continue tonight. The circuit is turned off until it is corrected. Bad thing about it, is i am sure it has been like this for years!

Any leads to a resolution would greatly be appreciated!
Thank you,
Kyle

Advertisement

Toyz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 09:41 AM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Older home -- Open Ground issues, please help


Look for an open ground connection in one of the boxes. It sounds like your grounding wire stops at some point.

Advertisement

__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 08:40 PM
Open Ground Remedy? gksmith6 Electrical 5 01-04-2008 07:32 PM
Open Ground? Cornfused JRoot Electrical 15 10-29-2007 02:20 PM
Hot Tub Install--Grounding Rod Question statgeek_rob Electrical 16 09-15-2007 03:59 AM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 07:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts