Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-02-2010, 07:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Older cottage


Just bought a older cottage and started to replace some receptecles. Went to switch the fridge plug and noticed it had four wires attached. Green ,white ,red and black. Followed it down to the old panel nothing else is attached to this line. No problems hooking up the green,white and black wires but unsure what to do with the red. They had this hooked to the hot side of the plug beside the black but with the connecting bar removed.

alphamale1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 07:20 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,585
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Older cottage


Sounds like a duplex being served by 2 circuits sharing the neutral connection. This is commonly called a multi-wire branch circuit. There should be 2 breakers tied together to shut off the power to this receptacle.

Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 09:00 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Older cottage


Thanks Jim
Should I go ahead and just rewire the new plug the same way? Is this safe ? or is there a better way of rewiring this plug .
alphamale1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 09:25 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Older cottage


You need to break off the tab on the hot side of the receptacle
This places each plug on a different circuit

Where are you located ?
Where is the outlet located ?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 09:31 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,549
Rewards Points: 22
Default

Older cottage


Sounds like a split wired receptacle. Standard set in Canadian kitchens. Break the tab onthe gold screw side and reconnect as it was.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 09:59 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 0
Lightbulb

Older cottage


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Sounds like a split wired receptacle. Standard set in Canadian kitchens. Break the tab onthe gold screw side and reconnect as it was.
It is also a stingy way of providing minimum service by a landlord who cares little for the comfort of the tenants. BTW. what is the purpose of a MWBC on a refrigerator receptacle, as (I believe) the OP mentioned.
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2010, 10:05 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Older cottage


Well most fridge outlets are behind the fridge
But I have been in plenty of Apts & older houses where the outlet is on the counter & the fridge plug/cord comes across to plug in

And one Apt they had a surge strip plugged into the fridge outlet to provide more plugs for kitchen use
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 12:13 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Older cottage


Thanks for your responses.
I live in Ontario Canada and the plug in question used to be above a kitchen counter top but I since moved that counter top and I am in the process of installing the fridge in that space. The second problem with this plug is that they didn't have the ground connected properly so when I would plug in my tester it showed that the connection was good but it was not grounded. I was going to install a grounding pigtail inside the receptacle box to see if this worked what do you think?
alphamale1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 12:24 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 0
Question

Older cottage


Quote:
Originally Posted by alphamale1 View Post
Thanks for your responses.
I live in Ontario Canada and the plug in question used to be above a kitchen counter top but I since moved that counter top and I am in the process of installing the fridge in that space. The second problem with this plug is that they didn't have the ground connected properly so when I would plug in my tester it showed that the connection was good but it was not grounded. I was going to install a grounding pigtail inside the receptacle box to see if this worked what do you think?
It would only work if the box itself is grounded as, for example either being attached to conduit or BX, (Which I doubt) or, having the bare wire of Romex (NM cable) (called Lumex, in Canada. Having lived there in the past.) attached to the box and the other end connected to Ground in the Panel? (antique)!

Last edited by spark plug; 01-03-2010 at 12:25 AM. Reason: Missing (a) letter!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 12:31 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 0
Exclamation

Older cottage


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Well most fridge outlets are behind the fridge
But I have been in plenty of Apts & older houses where the outlet is on the counter & the fridge plug/cord comes across to plug in

And one Apt they had a surge strip plugged into the fridge outlet to provide more plugs for kitchen use
Having resided in the past (1971) in Montreal, Canada, this is exactly how the "upgraded" wiring in our kitchen looked. A MWBC outlet above the counter and no dedicated outlet for the refrigerator! All of that connected to a nice, modern Fuse box!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 09:55 AM   #11
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,549
Rewards Points: 22
Default

Older cottage


15 amp MWBC counter receptacles is a standard installation in Ontario for kitchen counters. Fridges now have to be on a dedicated circuit under the current code.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
older furnace trouble dags6555 HVAC 1 12-10-2009 06:19 PM
Outlet With Swith and Older (White, Black, Red) Wire CaptChaos Electrical 18 09-14-2009 11:17 PM
Older GE Fridge no Ice WorldOfJohnboy Appliances 3 09-10-2009 07:39 PM
Question about replacing load center in older house speedster1 Electrical 5 05-14-2009 07:55 AM
Adding a phone line to an older connect point cramsmith General DIY Discussions 3 11-23-2005 11:35 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.