Old Work Detached Building??? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-28-2006, 10:48 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Old Work Detached Building???


Hello,
I started a simple project which has turned into a semi-major one. I recently purchased a home with a seperate building a couple hundred feet from the home. It started out with an outdoor light switch which would not click off most of the time. This switch has turned into replacement of the ancient fuse box sub-panel in the building. The sub-panel is fed with 3 wires from the main panel in the house; 2 hot and one neutral (grounded wire). After reading "Wiring Simplified" and numerous posts I have concluded that this installation requires 4 wires under today's NEC; 2 hot 1 neutral and 1 Gnd. The wiring from the house is in great shape and I am not going to replace the line from the house so I am limited with the 3 wires. The question is on bonding. Do I install the bonding screw and bond the neutral bus bar, the ground rods, and the ground bus bar together? Or do I leave the bonding screw out and just connect the ground bus bar to the ground rods and leave the neutal bus bar just connected to the neutral from the house? The old sub-panel had the neutral, the ground and the grounding rod bonded. For right now I am hooking it up the same as previously.
Thanks in advance for any feedback.

Advertisement


Last edited by dalerhs; 09-28-2006 at 12:10 PM.
dalerhs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 05:19 PM   #2
World famous jerk.
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: central PA
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Old Work Detached Building???


You are confused. A 4-wire setup is not required to detached structures UNLESS you have other metallic paths between the house and the detached structure like phone lines, metallic gas/water lines, etc. With your 3 wire feeder, you absolutely need the bonding screw or strap installed. Treat that panel just like a service panel. Connect your ground rod(s) too.

Advertisement

mdshunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pay GC to construct home and finish it myself? L O N G . . . Badfish740 Off Topic 9 07-27-2007 09:44 AM
Am I being overcharged for general construction work? baloney12 Building & Construction 2 07-11-2007 07:09 PM
A steel building that doesn't look like a steel building? MMW Building & Construction 1 06-11-2007 05:24 PM
GC a detached garage myself or find GC? Jemo Building & Construction 5 02-02-2007 07:27 AM
International building code and permits rforsha Building & Construction 4 08-28-2006 07:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts