Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-24-2012, 04:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Old wiring in an old house


In an old house I tried to put a wall switch in the bathroom. Got the new wire run and ready to hook up but I noe realize I only have two wires one coming in the box and one going out of the box. I don't know what to do. Help

cnreadle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 05:00 PM   #2
Member
 
SuperJETT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Loo-uh-vul, KY
Posts: 195
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Old wiring in an old house


Call an electrician. Not to be rude, but seriously, if that is stumping you, then you should have an electrician doing it for you.

SuperJETT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 05:11 PM   #3
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Old wiring in an old house


I'm assuming you have 2 wires coming in and out of a light fixture box?
Should be 1 hot and 1 neutral.
You need to switch the HOT conductor, not the neutral conductor.
The neurtal stays connected to the light, the hot wire coming into the box connects to the black wire going to the new switch. At the switch, the black wire connects to one screw on the switch, and the white to the other screw. THE WHITE MUST BE RE-IDENTIFIED AS A HOT CONDUCTOR. This is done by wrapping black electrical tape around the white wire in at least one place, the tape must completely encircle the wire. At the light fixture, you attach the white wire from the switch to the old hot terminal on the fixture. The white wire MUST be identified as a hot here also.

If you are not comfortable doing this, or identifying the hot conductor, you really should have an electrician hook it up for you, especially in a bathroom where things get wet.
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 05:20 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,014
Rewards Points: 3,144
Default

Old wiring in an old house


The info posted could not be more wrong.
Please hold in there for a real electrition to post the right ansewer.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 05:23 PM   #5
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Old wiring in an old house


Please correct me then, I believe I did give a good answer, if not I will gladly edit and correct it or completely delete it.
It is never my intension to give bad , misleading, or incorrect information, never.
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 05:24 PM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Old wiring in an old house


I'm not fully understanding why you ran a new wire, is it to feed another switch, or simply another light using the existing switch?

Either way, it sounds to me like you either have knob and tube wiring or a switch loop. Either way, you will not be able to extend this wiring to feed something else.

Edit...You need to be more specific with what you are trying to do and what is already existing.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
joecaption (11-24-2012)
Old 11-24-2012, 05:45 PM   #7
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Old wiring in an old house


OK, the white wire going from the lighting fixture should be connected to the HOT (not the black wire), and the black wire coming back from the switch should be connected to the fixture.

I did have that wrong, code reference below:

200.7 (C) (1)

Exception (1)
If part of a cable assembly that has the insulation permanently reindentified to indicate its use as an ungrounded conductor by marking tape, painting, or other effective means at its termination and at each location where the conductor is visible and accessible. Identification shall encircle the insulation and shall be a color other than white, gray, or green. If used for single-pole, 3-way, or 4-way switch loops, the reidentified conductor with white or gray insulation or three continuous white stripes shall be used only for the supply to the switch, but not as a return conductor from the switch to the outlet.
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TTW For This Useful Post:
jbfan (11-24-2012)
Old 11-24-2012, 06:52 PM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,861
Rewards Points: 2,516
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Old wiring in an old house


What you are describing is a switch loop. The user may not have a switch loop.
We need clarification if the user has two wires or two cables(four wires) in the switch box.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.

Last edited by joed; 11-24-2012 at 09:42 PM.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 07:43 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,286
Rewards Points: 570
Default

Old wiring in an old house


Knob and tube is my vote.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bobelectric For This Useful Post:
TTW (11-24-2012)
Old 11-24-2012, 08:00 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Old wiring in an old house


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric
Knob and tube is my vote.
Vanilla Ice is my vote.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 07:48 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Old wiring in an old house


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I'm not fully understanding why you ran a new wire, is it to feed another switch, or simply another light using the existing switch?

Either way, it sounds to me like you either have knob and tube wiring or a switch loop. Either way, you will not be able to extend this wiring to feed something else.

Edit...You need to be more specific with what you are trying to do and what is already existing.
There was a light with only a pull chain switch. I am trying to install a wall switch. There is only one single wire coming in the box and one single wire going out of the box. I am comfortable with most wiring but not this situation. Thank you for your response.
cnreadle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 07:51 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Old wiring in an old house


There was not a wall switch. Only a pull chain from the light socket. I am trying to run a wall switch. There is only one single wire coming into the light box and one single wire going out. Thus my problem
cnreadle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 07:58 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Old wiring in an old house


Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmran

Vanilla Ice is my vote.
CNREADLE - you are a legitimate poster. Please accept my apology.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 08:00 AM   #14
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Old wiring in an old house


TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 08:05 AM   #15
Member
 
SuperJETT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Loo-uh-vul, KY
Posts: 195
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Old wiring in an old house


So, you have an unswitched light (has a pull chain but that's fixture mounted) on a box with 2 wires in it. One wire will be hot, the other neutral. You would put a switch loop on the hot leg in that box and make sure to relabel the white wire as mentioned because it becomes a hot wire.

SuperJETT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oven wiring, old house. Pluf2 Appliances 5 02-18-2012 09:03 PM
electric wiring in house remodel wis_remod Electrical 6 04-02-2009 02:40 PM
1939 House Wiring upgrade jimmyfloyd Electrical 4 10-01-2008 03:56 PM
Complete AC installation in Old Capitol Hill Row House jacko10 HVAC 0 09-18-2007 05:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.