Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-27-2010, 12:50 PM   #1

Share |

Old wiring/new Ceiling fixture - Damsel in distress

I am hoping to put in a new ceiling fixture with some old wiring. Here is a picture of the box and wire that I am working with. We turn this fixture on by a switch in the room:
Old wiring/new Ceiling fixture - Damsel in distress-ceiling-wiring2.jpg
I have a few questions as I'm a novice with old wiring.
The fixture I am wanting to install has speed wire clips on the wires. Will I have to change the old wiring to work with these - or is there a way to make it work? Does my old wiring look too out dated for any type of new fixtures? We don't turn this ceiling light on very often (less than 10 times a year), so should I just tape up these old wires and put up a decorative ceiling medallion? If I do this option, is taping the wires the proper thing to do?

Thanks for any help,
Marilee

Marilee516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 05:20 PM   #2

your old bx cloth wiring is def. outdated. the easiest way to go about this is to ideally cut the wires back enough before they are breaking and splice on new leads. if this is not possible, get some rubber electrical tape and tape up the conductors nice and tight. then tape the white wire with white vinyl tape and black for the black wire. as far as the speedy connectors, i would cut them off and wire nut the fixture directly to the old wiring. im not a big fan of those speedy connectors unless im working on 277v+.

heartlessmcfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2010, 08:26 PM   #3
Licensed electrician

A lot of new ceiling mount fixtures will call for usage with 90 degree C rated insulation which you definitely do not have.
Old 11-28-2010, 11:59 AM   #4

I had the same problem in my kitchen as you have, and no possibility of running new wire. ( no access above).