Old Wiring In Kitchen - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2010, 10:57 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Old wiring in kitchen


Good morning,

I am new to the forums and this is my first post. My home was built in 1965 and has older wiring in it. My kitchen has grounded receptacles installed but no ground wire is present. I checked the wiring at the main panel and oddly enough a ground wire is present for the circuit. It appears someone must have clipped the ground wire at the outlet box.
I would like to have some of the outlets grounded. Should I rip out all the old wiring and replace it or just add a new circuit?

Thanks!

Advertisement

donnek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 11:28 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,352
Rewards Points: 3,498
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Old wiring in kitchen


You need to inspect the existing cable. The ground might be there. Sometimes they wrapped it around the cable and put it under the clamp. You just need to fish it out into the box.
Kitchen receptacles should be GFCI by current code. Even if the ground is not present GFCI is a valid replacement for ungrounded receptacles.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.

Last edited by joed; 11-15-2010 at 02:50 PM. Reason: spelling
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 12:20 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Old wiring in kitchen


Thanks joed for the response. I previously removed the cable clamp in the box and could not see a ground wire which led me to the conclusion that the wire had been cut. If I install a GFCI can the other downstream outlets remain 3 prong? Will a GFCI breaker do the same? Are there any concerns using appliances with a grounding plug on the circuit? Thanks again.
donnek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 02:52 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,352
Rewards Points: 3,498
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Old wiring in kitchen


One receptacle can protect downstream receptacles id connected to the LOAD terminals. REceptacles are cheaper than breakers. I would use a GFCI receptacle. It is also easier to find and get to if it trips.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 03:41 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Old wiring in kitchen


Thanks for the reply. My only concern with the GFCI receptacle is the size of the box. I don't know if I could get it to fit.
donnek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 12:24 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Old wiring in kitchen


Can anyone tell me if there are any concerns using grounded appliances on an ungrounded kitchen circuit protected by a GFCI?
donnek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 01:02 PM   #7
Craftsman
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 66
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Old wiring in kitchen


Donnek, describe the ground you found at the panel. Some older homes were wired with two wire romex but had a separate ground wire (#12 or #14) run with the romex and attached to the outside of the device boxes in the kitchen and laundry circuits. Did you test from hot to the box or use a plug-in tester to see if the box is grounded.
Superrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 02:08 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Old wiring in kitchen


The ground wire at the panel appears to be a smaller wire, possible #16? I tested from hot to the metal box at each outlet location.
donnek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 02:47 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 295
Rewards Points: 254
Default

Old wiring in kitchen


Ther are no concerns using appliaces with 3 prong style grounded plugs into a gfci protected ungrounded outlet.
If everything functions properly the ground wire never gets used.
It is there to reduce the shock severity if something goes awry.
Gfci's are an acceptable alternative to grounding for retrofits only.
They offer shock protection in a different method.

Long story short: the ground isn't needed to make an appliance work its there for your protection

Advertisement

michaelcherr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kitchen Wiring Requirements SS396 Electrical 24 02-07-2011 11:00 AM
Using same tile for bathroom and kitchen too Matchy-Matchy? Jeanene Interior Decorating 10 03-29-2010 01:38 AM
So I'm Thinking about Doing Renovations on My Kitchen Jim.Lee Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 6 03-15-2010 08:53 PM
Wiring inside kitchen island? vsheetz Electrical 14 05-12-2009 02:49 PM
Kitchen Wiring Questions Chazbe Electrical 22 04-11-2008 05:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts