Old Screw In Fuse Problem - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2012, 08:12 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

old screw in fuse problem


My wife and i just bought a 50 year old house and the wiring is an absolute mess. Im just replacing light switches and some are jumped off each other and its just all over the place. But that's besides the point, whatever they did worked until I tried replacing them and crossed a wire some how blowing the fuse. Upon undoing all wiring I did I went down stairs and replaced the screw in type S fuse that was shot with another 15 amp fuse that was from the furnace spot so I knew it was good. Now im not getting any power even with a good fuse. Is it possible I blew whatever the slot is called that the fuse screws into? Im new to these fuses im use to breakers. Thanks for any help.

Advertisement

uniquelyinked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 08:42 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 7,771
Rewards Points: 3,648
Default


There must be a loose connection somewhere. If you blow a fuse (or trip a breaker) there is a chance that at that moment a marginal connection became loose because of a large current flow for that moment.

Advertisement

__________________
Tornado victims: Do not rush to rebuild. Take your time and look for and get a good contractor. Or consider selling the property and moving to a home that is ready to live in.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 08:44 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 7,771
Rewards Points: 3,648
Default


There must be a loose connection somewhere, probably at one of the switches or receptacles in the daisy chain. If you blow a fuse (or trip a breaker) there is a chance that at that moment a marginal connection became loose because of a large current flow for that moment.

When you use both of the screws on one side of a receptacle unit to continue power to additional locations, it is not unheard of for the tab that bridges those two screws to crack and stop the continuation of power past that point. For some wiring arrangements that tab is supposed to be removed by bending back and forth until it snaps off.
__________________
Tornado victims: Do not rush to rebuild. Take your time and look for and get a good contractor. Or consider selling the property and moving to a home that is ready to live in.

Last edited by AllanJ; 11-13-2012 at 08:46 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 09:03 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default


So it is possible if the circuit is not complete (one switch isn't wired up) that the whole area that fuse controls can be killed?
uniquelyinked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 10:00 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 7,771
Rewards Points: 3,648
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by uniquelyinked View Post
So it is possible if the circuit is not complete (one switch isn't wired up) that the whole area that fuse controls can be killed?
Yes. If you take a break from your project and some of the outlet boxes still have the wire ends hanging out, portions of the areas, possibly the entire area served by that circuit, could be dead.

The more reliable method of wiring is to connect the incoming and continuing wires directly to each other with a short length (pigtail) added to reach the receptacle or switch in that box. But even here you should not energize the circuit until everything is put back together or at least you tape the loose ends of the pigtails.
__________________
Tornado victims: Do not rush to rebuild. Take your time and look for and get a good contractor. Or consider selling the property and moving to a home that is ready to live in.

Last edited by AllanJ; 11-13-2012 at 10:03 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 01:50 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 11,473
Rewards Points: 9,738
Blog Entries: 11
Default


Or the fuse blew right away and now you have two blown fuses.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 03:53 PM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,352
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default


or damaged the fuse holder.

Advertisement

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stuck Screw IceTreay General DIY Discussions 11 09-09-2010 01:56 PM
Azek Decking and Cortex Screw System EdtheC Flooring 2 08-27-2010 07:48 PM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 06:26 PM
100 Amp Fuse - issue - HELP! Leenders Electrical 9 06-02-2008 04:06 PM
Post-Tension Slab Problem Advice/Help Mike McBride Building & Construction 2 01-09-2007 01:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1