Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-13-2012, 08:12 AM   #1

Share |

old screw in fuse problem

My wife and i just bought a 50 year old house and the wiring is an absolute mess. Im just replacing light switches and some are jumped off each other and its just all over the place. But that's besides the point, whatever they did worked until I tried replacing them and crossed a wire some how blowing the fuse. Upon undoing all wiring I did I went down stairs and replaced the screw in type S fuse that was shot with another 15 amp fuse that was from the furnace spot so I knew it was good. Now im not getting any power even with a good fuse. Is it possible I blew whatever the slot is called that the fuse screws into? Im new to these fuses im use to breakers. Thanks for any help.

uniquelyinked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 08:42 AM   #2

There must be a loose connection somewhere. If you blow a fuse (or trip a breaker) there is a chance that at that moment a marginal connection became loose because of a large current flow for that moment.

Old 11-13-2012, 08:44 AM   #3

There must be a loose connection somewhere, probably at one of the switches or receptacles in the daisy chain. If you blow a fuse (or trip a breaker) there is a chance that at that moment a marginal connection became loose because of a large current flow for that moment.

When you use both of the screws on one side of a receptacle unit to continue power to additional locations, it is not unheard of for the tab that bridges those two screws to crack and stop the continuation of power past that point. For some wiring arrangements that tab is supposed to be removed by bending back and forth until it snaps off.

Last edited by AllanJ; 11-13-2012 at 08:46 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 09:03 AM   #4