Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-29-2013, 09:54 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Old man running Electrical to workshop


My son has a workshop that's 150 feet from his house. He has 100 amps going into the main house (rural) and 200 amps to an outside panel below the meter (on the house). I would like to run 100 amps to his workshop for him from this outside panel. It seems straight forward to me, but I thought I would get your advice, I read the columns religiously (I'm old). I plan on trenching down 18 inches. Then from the house, running metal conduit 4 feet across and then down (I'm trying to avoid cement that's below the panel/meter. I'd then switch to non metal in the trench from a 90 elbow. THe trench will need to turn a few times to avoid trees/driveway. I will run 2/0 AL 4 single wires (2 hot, neutral,ground) to a subpanel at the workshop. I'll unband the ground and neutral bars, run rods (2) out 6 feet and go down 8 feet with them. From there, I'm good with the workshop wiring. Did I miss anything? I grew up before "neutral" was a necessity, everybody said they were just trying to sell more Cu. Thanks a bunch.

Screwitharder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 06:04 AM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,892
Default

Old man running Electrical to workshop


Quote:
Originally Posted by Screwitharder View Post
Did I miss anything? I grew up before "neutral" was a necessity, everybody said they were just trying to sell more Cu. Thanks a bunch.
Neutral was always a necessity. The terminology is what confuses everyone...

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 06:11 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Old man running Electrical to workshop


1) With just 4' across the house, I would just run PVC the whole way.

2) With 2/0 ungrounded conductors, you could go with a 1/0 neutral and a #2 ground. All 4 @ 2/0 would be overkill.

3)If your trench will turn a few times, plus a 90 going in and a 90 coming out, I would just go another 6" and use direct burial wire and just use pipe in and out of the ground. You'll play hell pulling that length and size wire in too many bends.
Quote:
I grew up before "neutral" was a necessity
You mean ground
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
conduit, electrical, subpanel, trench, wiring


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
running Electrical wire/ethernet alongside natural gas line lazzz Electrical 15 03-22-2013 06:26 AM
Running electrical wire jyalbert Electrical 15 04-30-2011 04:07 PM
Running electrical wire into 98 Buick Lasabre Red Squirrel Automotive Repairs 5 04-22-2010 09:08 AM
running underground electrical, communication, and water Chavez Electrical 4 04-05-2009 12:45 PM
Electrical wiring running parellel and through ductwork? Beren Electrical 1 06-01-2007 04:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.