Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-31-2011, 02:25 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Old House - Old Wiring, Need help!!!


ok so i had a guy come and "install" a new medicine cabinet and light in my bathroom. well the old medicine cabinet had a light switch, plug, and light mounted on the side of it. so they guy i had "install" a new one just tosses it out and "installs" my new light and medicine cabinet with no power switch.. so its put in a bulb until it burns out and then replace it lol.. so i decided to tear it all out and do it myself. needless to say he wasnt paid lol.. anyways, i dont know anything about electric work. but i can see that the guy disconnected whatever wire was connected to the switch on the old cabinet and wired it straight to the new light.. there is only a black wire and a white wire by the way. like i said old house and old wiring... but to my question.. can i just simply cut the jumble of wires behind the light and bring the down to run into the bottom of the light switch and run new wire out of the top of the switch to the light? if that makes any sense at all.. i know im kind of rambling,, if it doesnt make sense just let me know and i will sit down and try to make more sense of it lol
Attached Thumbnails
Old House - Old Wiring, Need help!!!-mantle-001.jpg  


Last edited by jacobried; 08-31-2011 at 02:47 PM.
jacobried is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 02:49 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Old House - Old Wiring, Need help!!!


i added a photo to try to make more sense.. i used green and red so they would stand out... ok so i need to know how to wire a switch to install a light in the bathroom and still be able to have those wires run to the next room so the light will work in there.. can anyone help out??

jacobried is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 03:41 PM   #3
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,040
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Old House - Old Wiring, Need help!!!


Stop what you are doing and call an electricain. You are dealing with knob and tube wiring. It is not to be extended or modified. Your medicine cabinet installer left a royal mess. You should not have those open splices in the wall. That whole circuit needs to be rewired.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 04:45 PM   #4
RST
DIY Homeowner
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 169
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Old House - Old Wiring, Need help!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
Stop what you are doing and call an electricain. You are dealing with knob and tube wiring. It is not to be extended or modified. Your medicine cabinet installer left a royal mess. You should not have those open splices in the wall. That whole circuit needs to be rewired.
What he said! This isn't something to DIY.
RST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 10:52 PM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Old House - Old Wiring, Need help!!!


I will agree with other guys just stop right there and have electrician come in and assit you on this one you can NOT modifed the old T&K set up at all and what more to compound the issue you have the wall open now so you have to bring it up to the date with the codewise.

The electrician will determed how far the oringal T&K is and see if any other comprised T&K conneciton or location and they will pull the NM cable and do the proper repairs as need to.

Now for the bathroom you will need it own circuit for the GFCI receptale this is very specfic in the NEC codé. { a 20 amp circuit is common }

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 11:09 PM   #6
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Old House - Old Wiring, Need help!!!


20 amp circuit to a bathroom is required.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2011, 11:28 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,507
Rewards Points: 30
Default

Old House - Old Wiring, Need help!!!


Wiring in a switch is easy enough,
Take the white wire out of the back of the lamp base,
Add some more white wire to this white wire,
run it to the switch and connect.
On other side of switch add another white wire,
Run wire wire back up to the lamp base,
And connect.
EASY.

BUT --
Do you want to keep it up to code ???
knob and tube wiring is risky,
and you have really opened up a B I G can of worms.
If you want to keep it up to code,
I suggest you consult with an electricain.
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 04:54 AM   #8
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,040
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Old House - Old Wiring, Need help!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
Wiring in a switch is easy enough,
Take the white wire out of the back of the lamp base,
Add some more white wire to this white wire,
run it to the switch and connect.
On other side of switch add another white wire,
Run wire wire back up to the lamp base,
And connect.
EASY.
What you are suggesting is switching the neutral, a total code violation and dangerous. The OP needs an electricain as you also suggest.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 11:19 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Old House - Old Wiring, Need help!!!


thank you to everyone, i will call an electrician lol... i figured it looked a mess when i took the wall out. i dont know anything about electrical work but i knew that didnt look no were near right.. so thanks again and i will have someone come and fix it the right way.
jacobried is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 11:23 AM   #10
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,158
Rewards Points: 72
Default

Old House - Old Wiring, Need help!!!


Keep in mind, that it will be easier to do all electrical, to bring up to date now, since you are working on the bath, cost wise, than trying to do it piece meal over time. you can pull all of the Romex yourself. Or find an Electrician that will work alongside you, and let you help do the grunt work of helping to pull Romex, and they can assist in showing you how to connect switches & outlets, to help pass an inspection, if one is required for this scope of work.

Bad side is, since you have Knob & Tube, I am guessing that you still have a 60 amp fuse panel, somewhere.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 05:33 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,507
Rewards Points: 30
Default

Old House - Old Wiring, Need help!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by jacobried View Post
thank you to everyone, i will call an electrician lol... i figured it looked a mess when i took the wall out. i dont know anything about electrical work but i knew that didnt look no were near right.. so thanks again and i will have someone come and fix it the right way.
Please come back later, and let us know what the outcome was !

dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dmxtothemax For This Useful Post:
Leah Frances (09-02-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a sub panel to another sub panel Uncle Wayne Electrical 25 02-08-2011 09:50 AM
electric wiring in house remodel wis_remod Electrical 6 04-02-2009 02:40 PM
1939 House Wiring upgrade jimmyfloyd Electrical 4 10-01-2008 03:56 PM
Complete AC installation in Old Capitol Hill Row House jacko10 HVAC 0 09-18-2007 05:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.