Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-21-2013, 10:49 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: northern NJ
Posts: 72
Rewards Points: 77
Default

old house, old question on gfci


i thought i will be able to find the answer with simple search as i am sure i am not alone in this situation but could not find the answer...

1. for 26 yr old house, what is the distance from the KITCHEN sink for which GFCI is a required?

conversely, what is the minimum distance (from kitchen sink) to a NON-gfci outlet

2. when we bought the house, the kitchen-counter outlets were not GFCI and we never changed....do we need to change before selling the house?

thanks



drgkjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 11:30 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default

old house, old question on gfci


Quote:
Originally Posted by drgkjd View Post
i thought i will be able to find the answer with simple search as i am sure i am not alone in this situation but could not find the answer...

1. for 26 yr old house, what is the distance from the KITCHEN sink for which GFCI is a required?

conversely, what is the minimum distance (from kitchen sink) to a NON-gfci outlet

2. when we bought the house, the kitchen-counter outlets were not GFCI and we never changed....do we need to change before selling the house?

thanks


the inspection report will probably ask for all receptacles serving the countertops be GFI protected.

usair is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to usair For This Useful Post:
drgkjd (05-22-2013)
Old 05-22-2013, 12:00 AM   #3
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,877
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

old house, old question on gfci


Quote:
Originally Posted by drgkjd View Post
i thought i will be able to find the answer with simple search as i am sure i am not alone in this situation but could not find the answer...

1. for 26 yr old house, what is the distance from the KITCHEN sink for which GFCI is a required?

conversely, what is the minimum distance (from kitchen sink) to a NON-gfci outlet

2. when we bought the house, the kitchen-counter outlets were not GFCI and we never changed....do we need to change before selling the house?

thanks


Technically, that would be around the 1987-87-88 code cycle. You would normally be grandfathered to that... but doubtfull any of us remember/know that.

Practically speaking, especially if you can do it, put 1 or (2 if necessary) GFI's on your kitchen counters to protect all kitchen recepticals. Use 1 first in each circut to protect all and you'll be out only $10-$20.

As USAIR said, you'll get noticed in your buyers inspection... and regardless of whether youy are grandfathered legal, my experience is it freaks novice, unknowledgeable home buyers. They'll ask for the repair and an electrician will be 100-150 with a service call.

Plus that is a good safety measure in my opinion.
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MTN REMODEL LLC For This Useful Post:
drgkjd (05-22-2013)
Old 05-22-2013, 12:14 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

old house, old question on gfci


If you haven't updated the circuit, the non-GFCI is grandfathered. Nevertheless, I'd replace them.
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sirsparksalot For This Useful Post:
drgkjd (05-22-2013)
Old 05-22-2013, 08:42 AM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,130
Rewards Points: 3,054
Blog Entries: 4
Default

old house, old question on gfci


You don't need to do anything before selling the house. The buyers can request a bunch of stuff but you don't have to do anything.

Under current code all receptacles on the kitchen counter are GFCI. Under the code your house was built under no receptacles on the counter were required to be GFCI.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
drgkjd (05-22-2013)
Old 05-22-2013, 12:19 PM   #6
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,877
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

old house, old question on gfci


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
You don't need to do anything before selling the house. The buyers can request a bunch of stuff but you don't have to do anything.

Under current code all receptacles on the kitchen counter are GFCI. Under the code your house was built under no receptacles on the counter were required to be GFCI.
Joed is dead on.... I'm just saying from a pragmatic sales standpoint, only my experience and opinion, lack of GFI scare alot of novice buyers (not you me or Joed). If you can preempt their possible request for GFI yourself for $20 (verse their request for GFI installed by a licenced electrician... and that's how it will be styled to mitigate RE agent liability), I think it is an economic and smart sales technique. (if you have to pay an electrician to do now... I guess it doesn't matter that much).

Sounds stupid... but I also advise that you clean-up and vacume your furnace. Seems to me if its dirty, half the time an inspector will say the unit should be inspected/certified by a licensed HVAC man. Then you're into service call costs.

Your home is a used home, with plenty of normal corrections to be found... and I just try to minimize what I consider to be transfer costs of trading/selling property.
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MTN REMODEL LLC For This Useful Post:
mm11 (05-22-2013)
Old 05-22-2013, 03:25 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: northern NJ
Posts: 72
Rewards Points: 77
Default

old house, old question on gfci


Quote:
Originally Posted by MTN REMODEL LLC View Post
Joed is dead on.... I'm just saying from a pragmatic sales standpoint, only my experience and opinion, lack of GFI scare alot of novice buyers (not you me or Joed). If you can preempt their possible request for GFI yourself for $20 (verse their request for GFI installed by a licenced electrician... and that's how it will be styled to mitigate RE agent liability), I think it is an economic and smart sales technique. (if you have to pay an electrician to do now... I guess it doesn't matter that much).

Sounds stupid... but I also advise that you clean-up and vacume your furnace. Seems to me if its dirty, half the time an inspector will say the unit should be inspected/certified by a licensed HVAC man. Then you're into service call costs.

Your home is a used home, with plenty of normal corrections to be found... and I just try to minimize what I consider to be transfer costs of trading/selling property.
the furnace (gas)--- not sure where to vacuum

GFCI- i think it is very simple just to replace the regular dup-out with GFCI
drgkjd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 04:04 PM   #8
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,877
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

old house, old question on gfci


Quote:
Originally Posted by drgkjd View Post
the furnace (gas)--- not sure where to vacuum

GFCI- i think it is very simple just to replace the regular dup-out with GFCI
In ref to the furnace.... it really is that simplistic.... if it doesn't look dirty, cobwebby, crappy.... you're already done.... you'd be surprized how bad some furnace rooms look.

(Actually, if ya know what your doing, I'll take off my burner and blower cover (the sheet metal covers/doors just kinda snap off) and vacume dust out of them... cost 0... but inspectors do not really inspect for burner adjustment etc.... but if it looks unkempt and crappy, they often advise it be certified by a specialist.... to cover themselves.)


EDIT: SEE OSO BELOW
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)

Last edited by MTN REMODEL LLC; 05-22-2013 at 05:36 PM.
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 05:30 PM   #9
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,733
Rewards Points: 1,346
Default

old house, old question on gfci


While you are at it, change the furnace filter.

Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Oso954 For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (05-22-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI Question daveplot Electrical 11 06-10-2011 10:23 PM
GFCI with 12/2 wire Safety Question Coors Electrical 8 03-09-2010 05:53 PM
GFCI feeing subpanel question scott2332 Electrical 45 02-28-2009 04:15 PM
GFCI Question dankreboot Electrical 5 08-06-2008 09:33 PM
GFCI in detached garage question WShawn Electrical 2 08-02-2008 04:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.