Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-26-2011, 12:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Old FPE panel


Hi All
I have what looks to be an old FPE panel. It has original labels on it, "Federal Pioneer, Slab-Loc. CAT. No. BE112-24.
I have heard of some serious problems with some of their panels of breakers, with this little info can anyone tell me if I will need to think about changing this? If needed I could take pictures.

Tboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 12:31 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 172
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Old FPE panel


yah post a picture if you could
the only thing i have ever heard is the breakers are ****, the panels are fine, just the breakers
that being said i have a federal pacific stab lok which were ugly but fits federal pioneer stab lok breakers and never had a problem (knock on wood)
from what i know its just the breakers are ****ty

awdblazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 12:41 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Old FPE panel


Name:  image-4164670860.jpg
Views: 105
Size:  20.7 KB

Here is the outside will post breaker pic's later today if I have time to open it up.
Tboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 12:48 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,151
Rewards Points: 518
Default

Old FPE panel


Looking at your picture I am guessing you are in Canada.

Federal Pioneer and Federal Pacific are two different companies. Federal Pioneer does have the reputation of not tripping on overloads. I can tell you have a newer 2P20A, the new breakers are suppose to be better then older ones.

I would not rush out and replace your panel, I replaced my panel(one almost likes your) with a newer federal pioneer panel so I could reuse the breakers.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 01:02 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Old FPE panel


Nice call! You do know your stuff, yes in Canada. I will have a look at what breaker models are in the panel later today.
Thanks to all for your input.
Tboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 01:42 PM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,151
Rewards Points: 518
Default

Old FPE panel


The new breaker handles are colour coded
Blue-15A
Red-20A
Green-30A
Grey-40A

Anything bigger I believe are all black.

The older breakers all have black handles.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 11:50 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Old FPE panel


Let me know if you are getting rid of that FPE panel. I may have a need
for parts.
Dave in Kenora
d.kemp@ieee.org
807-543-2582

djkemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Panel cleanup gdoucette Electrical 5 06-26-2010 03:01 PM
Sub Panel SoxFan Electrical 2 12-02-2008 11:16 AM
Extending Old Main Circuit Panel lkpowell Electrical 4 10-23-2008 03:15 PM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 04:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 08:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.