Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-24-2012, 05:29 PM   #1

Share |

old electrical wiring

I am a musician, not an electrician. I am trying to install a new GFI circuit in my bathroom. I shut off the circuit breaker and took off the old broken 2 gang receptical. There are 4 black wires coming from the metal box with no ground. (There are no white wires as the house was built before 1930.) Only one wire is hot as tested with a multi-meter against the metal box. When testing the hot wire against the others black wires, there is nothing except one wire shows maybe trace electric (20 volts, maybe). The GFI also controls two other outlets that now have no service because of the missing bathroom outlet.

1st) what does "load" mean, what does "line" mean, and what does it mean on the Leviton GFI that says if the circuit supplies more than one outlet to have an electrician do it? 2nd) if there is only one hot wire, where does it go? 3rd) the GFI's little green light is on (showing there is electric there) but the GFI itself doesn't work (it's brand new) when the "test" button is pressed. 4th) where do all the other wires go? I finally got one of the other outlets working, but that's it.

HELP!!!!

Chaz
MusicMrfixit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 05:33 PM   #2

old electrical wiring

Well, from what you described you can't install a GFI there. Even in old homes, the still ran a grounded conductor (white). It is possible that some of the coloring correct because it is so old but you should still have 120VAC from your hot wire to another wire.

Line is the wire that comes from the panel and the load is everything that is "after" the device in the circuit.
AltaSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 05:39 PM   #3

Question

old electrical wiring