Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-29-2007, 05:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
digler101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Manteno, Illinois
Posts: 13
Share |
Default

Old Can Lights with plug-ins???


I recently opened up some pre-existing can lights for a remodel on my ceiling and noticed that the can lights have been wired to plug in to an free hanging plug? Has anyone ever seen anything like this? Can I take new lights and cut wires and attach plugs to them rather than getting up in the attic and pulling all of the existing wire out and starting from scratch? Ideas, thoughts, much appreciated.


Last edited by digler101; 11-29-2007 at 09:12 PM.
digler101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2007, 09:15 PM   #2
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Default

Old Can Lights with plug-ins???


Sounds like a hack job. You're not really allowed to do that unless its showcase lighting, or cord connected lighting designed for that purpose. Do it over and do it right.

goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avanti Electric Oven - But no Plug ? hongtea Electrical 4 03-16-2008 08:07 PM
Porch lights with timer or photocell? ciera Electrical 4 10-29-2007 07:35 AM
Work lights in basement with drop ceiling fw2007 Electrical 2 10-20-2007 09:39 AM
Formula for changing lights to recessed bulbs? Jemo Electrical 12 01-26-2007 05:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.