Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-10-2010, 03:06 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 208
Share |
Default

Old Amp Trap


I have an old Amp Trap fuse. It is about 8 inches long in total, with a cylindrical body and two opposing, silver-looking blades. I would guess it is at least 30 years old.

Were the blades ever made of solid silver, not silver-plated as I see described on the Ferraz Shawmut web page?

http://us.ferrazshawmut.com/catalog/.../european-iec/

Thanks!

cgoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 07:43 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,366
Default

Old Amp Trap


I have never seen a fuse with silver blades. They are almost always copper and tin plated.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 08:22 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 208
Default

Old Amp Trap


Actually, if you read the description of the fuse at the very bottom of the link, it says they are silver plated.

I took an Exacto to mine and there is a copper core, but the silver plate is pretty thick.
cgoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 09:05 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 208
Default

Old Amp Trap


I took some pictures. It is certainly not pure silver, but it is still interesting. I also took a bolt cutter to it to be sure...

I sanded the tarnish off the right side so that is why they look different.
Attached Thumbnails
Old Amp Trap-104_0623.jpg   Old Amp Trap-104_0624.jpg   Old Amp Trap-104_0625.jpg  
cgoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 09:49 PM   #5
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Old Amp Trap


I can't read the part number on the fuse you have but do you realize the link you provided is about IEC (European) rated fuses? I don't know if anything on the EIC page would be applicable to your fuse.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 10:26 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,366
Default

Old Amp Trap


Tin plated copper, like I said.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 02:09 AM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Old Amp Trap


That look like 200 amp 240 volt fuse but few case it may be 100 amp 480 volt fuse can you post the number we can able translated it clear.

Merci,
Marc

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace condensate drain/trap issue SteveC HVAC 33 12-27-2012 11:46 AM
Keep cast iron trap or new ABS trap? thebigsee Plumbing 1 01-26-2010 03:18 AM
No drain trap in a 7-year old home - is this normal? curls00 Plumbing 2 12-05-2009 12:40 PM
Cat trap fever radtek General DIY Discussions 13 05-31-2009 06:18 PM
clogged pipe or trap issue? windowguy Plumbing 3 05-10-2009 10:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.