Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-22-2011, 08:06 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

Old 2 wire homerun splicing with new 12/2?


Question for the pros!

Can I splice my old 2 wire which runs from the electrical panel (no ground wire; 1950's home) with new 12/2 in a junction box? More specifically, how do I splice the new 12/2 ground wire?

Thanks,

Buckman


Last edited by buckman; 09-22-2011 at 08:07 AM. Reason: wording
buckman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 08:29 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,699
Default

Old 2 wire homerun splicing with new 12/2?


No. 2 wire circuits are not allowed to be extended.
You will need to run a new circuit.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wire Choice 12/2 or 14/2 Pentium Electrical 13 05-05-2011 03:33 PM
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 07:07 PM
Adding ground in old home ChaosTheory Electrical 6 06-16-2010 04:02 PM
Splicing on 6 gauge wire paxprobellum Electrical 58 08-29-2009 01:22 AM
What is the best way to wire this? RST Electrical 8 08-18-2009 11:29 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.