Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-09-2012, 05:04 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

is it okay to plug a ups into a gfi outlet?


is it okay to plug a ups into a gfi outlet? I will be using my pellet stove on the ups so the fan runs in case of a power outage.

rhinewilliam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 05:08 PM   #2
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,832
Default

is it okay to plug a ups into a gfi outlet?


Sure....as long as the UPS current input is less than the rating of the GFI.

__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 05:36 PM   #3
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,407
Default

is it okay to plug a ups into a gfi outlet?


If the GFCI protection is not needed or required, you are OK.

But, a UPS does not normally have any GFCI protection on the down stream side, so you are defeating the protection that would otherwise be provided by the GFCI outlet.
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 05:54 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Wink

is it okay to plug a ups into a gfi outlet?


Understood, the GFCI outlet is already there and the pellet stove is plugged into it, I was just trying to make sure I wasn't going to run into any problems and to save myself having to put in a normal outlet. Thanks guys!
rhinewilliam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
250V 30amp 3 post plug on a bandsaw, change the plug to a 4 post plug question benjeremiah Electrical 3 10-04-2012 11:43 AM
Odd voltages at outlet TJF Electrical 12 11-01-2011 09:13 PM
GFCI outlet failed in a rain storm, now has no power! Kaybee33 Electrical 5 12-28-2010 05:38 PM
Outlet before light switch; Open Neutral? Fox Electrical 21 09-26-2010 08:38 PM
changing a range outlet or plug marty7 Electrical 9 12-17-2007 10:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.