Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-14-2008, 06:51 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 729
Share |
Default

Is this okay? 4 switch box


Hi, I have a 4 switch box where I will be installing 4 switches, 3 to Halo high hats, and one to sconce lights.. I have 2(Halo) lights coming into the box for switch-1, another 2 (Halo)lights coming into another switch-2, and 2 more halo lights coming into the the third switch. I also have 2 sconce coming into this box as well. I want to be able to control all the light, instead of having one switch lighting everything up. Most likely all these lighs will never be on at the same time. The Halo will have 13 watt energy bulbs on them, the sconce will have 13 watt bulbs as well. My question, I am feeding the 4 switch box with a 12/2 on a seperate circuit, can I tie onto this 12/2 as well to do 2 more halo high hats in the laundry room? Total on one circuit, 8 halo (13 watts) and 2 sconce 13 watts giving me a total of 130 watts. Thanks guys. Also how many wires can one tie together in a box this size? I was planing on tieing all the neutrals and pig tail the hot that will be feeding the switches?
** This will be on a 20 amp circuit**


Last edited by helpless handyman; 04-14-2008 at 06:59 AM.
helpless handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 07:29 AM   #2
Advice worth 2 cents!
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 229
Default

Is this okay? 4 switch box


This is a touchy question because there's more to it than you think. I can say this..

20A circuit and #12awg is fine. The total wattage for that breaker should be no more than 2000 watts. Now for your box....

First, I hate 4 ganged switches, after awhile they get too confusing to use. Second, it needs to be really big with all those wires and connections you want to make. The Code is explicit with this, it specifies the size of the box for the amount of wires and how many wire-nuts there are. Don't ever think of cramming stuff together when doing wiring, we electricians like lot's of space and air!

- pete

__________________
---pete
HandyPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 07:59 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 729
Default

Is this okay? 4 switch box


The box is pretty big and deep as well. The electricians used this same box upstairs where they did 3 way switches on each end of the room. They are gone and that's why I am asking.
helpless handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 08:12 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 21
Default

Is this okay? 4 switch box


I'm not an electrician, but I have been dealing with NEC box volume calculations in a workshop wiring project I'm working on. For 12 gauge wire, you need 2.25 cubic inches of box space for every wire that goes into the box. Plus, each light switch counts as 2 wires and requires an additional 4.5 cubic inches of space. The equipment grounding wire is counted only once, needing 2.25 cu in. Although probably not applying to your situation, any wire that merely passes through the box without terminating (and has less than 12 inches of length within the box) counts as one wire, requiring 2.25 cu in. Any wire that is contained completely within the box (does not enter or leave) does not count.

So assuming each of your 4 light circuits plus your infeed cable have one hot and one neutral, that's 10 wires there. Plus 8 more for the switches and one for the ground. A minimum of 19 wires (more if your box is wired differently). 19 x 2.25 = 43 cubic inches of inside box space minimum. As was said previously, more space is always better.
WoodworkerDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 08:13 AM   #5
electrician
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 326
Default

Is this okay? 4 switch box


Nobody can answer your question until you state the cubic inch capacity of your box and the number of cables or wires entering your box. If the box is plastic it will be stamped on the inside back.
Silk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 08:16 AM   #6
Advice worth 2 cents!
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 229
Default

Is this okay? 4 switch box


One other tip....

Ideally, you want the feed wires (hot and neutral) to come to the switch box. It's also better to have just one wire from each lighting circuit in the box, the junctions to multiple lights should be in other boxes or at the fixtures.


- pete
__________________
---pete
HandyPete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 08:20 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 729
Default

Is this okay? 4 switch box


Okay, I will check to see the size of the box. Like I said previously, the electricians used on the kitchen dining area as well as the living room. They are 4 switch boxes with 3 way switches on them with to me would be more wires that what I am using. It's not a plastic box, it a 4 switch box metal, and if they made it bigger, it wouldn't fit between a 2 x 4 . Thanks
helpless handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 09:45 AM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Default

Is this okay? 4 switch box


A typical 4 gang plastic (pvc blue) switch box is 60 cubic inch. That would give you plenty of room to comply with the electric code with the wires you mentioned. So if that is the box you have, it will work just fine.

When calculating the load on the circuit, use the maximum rated bulbs listed in the fixture instructions and not your 13 watt lamps. If the fixtures are rated for 60 watt bulbs use 10 x 60. If they are rated for 100 watts use 10 x 100. The reason for this is the next guy who comes along might change bulbs. In either case, a 20 amp circuit will be more than adequate for your 10 fixture load.

Connecting all the neutrals with the proper sized wire nut and pig tailing both the grounds and hots to the switches is how it is done. You are good to go once you verify your box size.

Ganging 4 switches in a box is very common and no problem at all.
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 12:22 PM   #9
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Is this okay? 4 switch box


Let me add one more thing here you may not well aware that pretty good percentage of CFL screw in bulbs are useally nonworkable with dimmers and becarefull some of the CFL are not rated to run inside of the recessed luminaires at all.

with 4 gang switch box it pretty common almost everywhere both resdentail and commercal location.

but a quick head up you may want to make a support behind the 4 gang box some dont have very good rigid support so take either patom [ ghost ] stud or use a brace [ some 4 gang box or larger will have this included ]

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 12:47 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 729
Default

Is this okay? 4 switch box


Thanks, box is braced on both sides with studs, and I am aware of the no dimmers on flourescent bulbs
helpless handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 08:37 PM   #11
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Is this okay? 4 switch box


Idle thought: my parents put a four-gang in their hallway twenty-five years ago. I lived in the house 15 years and still only know, for sure, that the first switch turned on the hall light. As for the other three: flip and test, flip and test, flip and test, until I get the light bank I wanted.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 10:39 PM   #12
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Default

Is this okay? 4 switch box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Leah Frances View Post
Idle thought: my parents put a four-gang in their hallway twenty-five years ago. I lived in the house 15 years and still only know, for sure, that the first switch turned on the hall light. As for the other three: flip and test, flip and test, flip and test, until I get the light bank I wanted.
A sharpie will work for that. Color to match the decor. I admit it's hard to see with the lights out.

jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring double switch for new ceiling fan toolmanwannabe Electrical 17 11-15-2011 09:34 PM
changing a fixture to an outlet - keeping the switch aweshucks Electrical 4 12-27-2007 05:06 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM
When Bulb blows, Dimmer Switch Blows mAv19 Electrical 2 05-26-2006 03:52 PM
Detached garage adding a 3 way switch. Slatherd Electrical 4 01-02-2006 02:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.