OK To Use 12-3 To Wire Switched Outlet? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2009, 11:24 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: California
Posts: 347
Rewards Points: 250
Default

OK to use 12-3 to wire switched outlet?


I've got an outlet (standard, 2 outlet thing, that is) behind my kitchen sink, and I want one of them (for garbage disposal) to be controlled by a switch and the other to be on all of the time. Can I use a single 12-3 romex instead of two 12-2 wires? That is, at the switch I will connect the red and black of the 12-3 to the incoming hot (black) wire. Then, say, the red wire will be used to connect the switch to one of the outlets, while the black will go to the "regular" (always-on) outlet. Then the white/neutral of the 12-3 will be connected to neutrals on both of the outlets. I hope this is reasonably clear...

Anyways, it seems to me that when the switch is "on", this setup would be the same as if I'd wired the outlets in the standard sort of way (i.e., no switch involved, and a single hot wire powering both outlets). Let me know if I've missed something here. Thanks.

Advertisement

Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 11:39 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

OK to use 12-3 to wire switched outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD View Post
I've got an outlet (standard, 2 outlet thing, that is) behind my kitchen sink, and I want one of them (for garbage disposal) to be controlled by a switch and the other to be on all of the time. Can I use a single 12-3 romex instead of two 12-2 wires? That is, at the switch I will connect the red and black of the 12-3 to the incoming hot (black) wire. Then, say, the red wire will be used to connect the switch to one of the outlets, while the black will go to the "regular" (always-on) outlet. Then the white/neutral of the 12-3 will be connected to neutrals on both of the outlets. I hope this is reasonably clear...

Anyways, it seems to me that when the switch is "on", this setup would be the same as if I'd wired the outlets in the standard sort of way (i.e., no switch involved, and a single hot wire powering both outlets). Let me know if I've missed something here. Thanks.
A little confused, you have the red wire hooked to the hot, to the switch, and to the outlet.

What is already there, the outlet and the switch, or just and outlet and you are adding a switch? What is the existing wiring?

Advertisement

hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 11:43 AM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,344
Rewards Points: 3,482
Blog Entries: 4
Default

OK to use 12-3 to wire switched outlet?


Yes you can do that. It is the preferred way.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 11:58 AM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,206
Rewards Points: 2,382
Default

OK to use 12-3 to wire switched outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by fast1 View Post
why is it the preferred way?
When power comes to the switch first then to the undersink receptacle it is the preferred way to split the receptacle for a switched outlet and a constant hot outlet by breaking the tab between the brass screws. The 12/3G allows for two hots ( one switched) and a single neutral at the receptacle.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 01:42 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,344
Rewards Points: 3,482
Blog Entries: 4
Default

OK to use 12-3 to wire switched outlet?


I think there is some code rule against running two cables between the same two boxes. Something about all conductors being in the same cable or raceway.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2009, 04:10 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

OK to use 12-3 to wire switched outlet?


I still say the OP did not supply enough information to answer his question.
If the receptacle is already in place and active and he wants to add a switch for half the receptacle he would only need 12/2.

If the power is to the outlet box and he has a switch that controls both halves he would only need to add a jumper.

If the power is to the switch and he wants to split the receptacle he would replace the 12/2 with 12/3.

Of course in all cases he would have the cut the hot jumper between the halves.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 07:42 AM   #7
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

OK to use 12-3 to wire switched outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
I think there is some code rule against running two cables between the same two boxes. Something about all conductors being in the same cable or raceway.
To my knowledge, no code against running 2 cables between the same 2 boxes. What you want to be aware of is that each cable is utilizing either a neutral (its proper one) or a swithed leg, (or a 240v type setup) so that the power is traveling in both directions in a cable at the exact same time, to minimize the induction imposed on the wires.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2009, 11:40 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: California
Posts: 347
Rewards Points: 250
Default

OK to use 12-3 to wire switched outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
When power comes to the switch first then to the undersink receptacle it is the preferred way to split the receptacle for a switched outlet and a constant hot outlet by breaking the tab between the brass screws. The 12/3G allows for two hots ( one switched) and a single neutral at the receptacle.
Yes, this is exactly what is happening. Thanks to all for the info (and sorry I didn't respond sooner, but I was busy yesterday).

Advertisement

Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding Ceiling Light From Switched Outlet vboz5 General DIY Discussions 2 03-04-2009 01:53 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM
3 Wire 220 Volt Outlet theatretch85 Electrical 5 07-29-2008 02:35 PM
Adding new ceiling light in place of switched outlet XavierG35 Electrical 2 02-13-2008 10:05 PM
HELP I need to wire a switch to an outlet to hook up my garbage disposal r8drman69 Electrical 8 06-05-2007 11:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts