Is It OK To Run Hotwire Through Single Pole Switch? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-11-2010, 11:30 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Is it OK to run hotwire through single pole switch?

I am adding a light to a pole. Because of where the switch is and some wires that are already in place it would be most simple to run the hot wire through the single pole switch rather than the common. I am no expert but from reading I see that generally the common is routed through the switch. I seem to recall from my high-school electricity/electronics class that either the hot wire or the common can be routed through the switch since all it does is complete the circuit when it is closed? Is this correct? I hope so because it will make my wiring much more simple. Thanks very much for any input!! It's at my home, 120 service, of course I am also running a ground wire.

Advertisement

TFastle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 11:38 AM   #2
Licensed Pro

Rewards Points: 1,000

Quote:
Originally Posted by TFastle View Post
I am adding a light to a pole. Because of where the switch is and some wires that are already in place it would be most simple to run the hot wire through the single pole switch rather than the common. I am no expert but from reading I see that generally the common is routed through the switch. I seem to recall from my high-school electricity/electronics class that either the hot wire or the common can be routed through the switch since all it does is complete the circuit when it is closed? Is this correct? I hope so because it will make my wiring much more simple. Thanks very much for any input!! It's at my home, 120 service, of course I am also running a ground wire.
ONLY the hot wire should be connected to a switch, never (in a dwelling) the neutral.

Advertisement

Old 11-11-2010, 12:16 PM   #3