Is It OK To Run Hotwire Through Single Pole Switch? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-11-2010, 11:30 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is it OK to run hotwire through single pole switch?


I am adding a light to a pole. Because of where the switch is and some wires that are already in place it would be most simple to run the hot wire through the single pole switch rather than the common. I am no expert but from reading I see that generally the common is routed through the switch. I seem to recall from my high-school electricity/electronics class that either the hot wire or the common can be routed through the switch since all it does is complete the circuit when it is closed? Is this correct? I hope so because it will make my wiring much more simple. Thanks very much for any input!! It's at my home, 120 service, of course I am also running a ground wire.

Advertisement

TFastle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 11:38 AM   #2
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,546
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Is it OK to run hotwire through single pole switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by TFastle View Post
I am adding a light to a pole. Because of where the switch is and some wires that are already in place it would be most simple to run the hot wire through the single pole switch rather than the common. I am no expert but from reading I see that generally the common is routed through the switch. I seem to recall from my high-school electricity/electronics class that either the hot wire or the common can be routed through the switch since all it does is complete the circuit when it is closed? Is this correct? I hope so because it will make my wiring much more simple. Thanks very much for any input!! It's at my home, 120 service, of course I am also running a ground wire.
ONLY the hot wire should be connected to a switch, never (in a dwelling) the neutral.

Advertisement

__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 12:16 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is it OK to run hotwire through single pole switch?


Thanks House Helper. I assume it does not matter which side of the switch the light is on or the supply? Also, on the switch I have, one side of it is labeled "common", why is that or what is meant by that? Sorry to be so dumb about this. I did pull the plate and look a similar set up and indeed the single pole switch only had a hot in and a hot out and a ground. Thanks again!
TFastle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 12:23 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,965
Rewards Points: 2,326
Default

Is it OK to run hotwire through single pole switch?


Quote:
Originally Posted by TFastle View Post
Thanks House Helper. I assume it does not matter which side of the switch the light is on or the supply? Also, on the switch I have, one side of it is labeled "common", why is that or what is meant by that? Sorry to be so dumb about this. I did pull the plate and look a similar set up and indeed the single pole switch only had a hot in and a hot out and a ground. Thanks again!
If you have a switch with a common screw, then you have a 3 way switch.

You can use this as a single pole switch, but you have a 50/50 chance of having an upside down switch.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 12:26 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is it OK to run hotwire through single pole switch?


ahhh... that makes sense. Okay, I am good to go. Sure appreciate the help JBFan and Househelper! Time to get to work. Thanks again!
TFastle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
common wire , hot wire , switch


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 wire romex for single switch jraf Electrical 4 04-06-2010 09:46 PM
GFCI on generator tripping; home backup MrNeutron Electrical 21 07-02-2009 11:11 PM
GFCI & Single Pole Switch combo II Weeks Electrical 12 04-10-2009 06:57 PM
single gang single pole switch on fan fabian Electrical 14 03-05-2009 02:11 AM
Help with single pole switch ballutster Electrical 2 10-13-2008 08:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts