Is It Ok To Plug A Non-faulty Toaster Into A 2 Prong Outlet? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2012, 01:48 PM   #1
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10

Is it ok to plug a non-faulty Toaster into a 2 prong outlet?

I have heard it is unsafe to plug faulty toasters into a 2 prong outlet as there is no earthing, however by design, the toaster's heating elements are kept insulated from the actual metal frame is this not so?, hence technically if there is nothing wrong with the toaster, this should be ok, correct?


Testors85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 02:04 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
kbsparky's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000

Does the toaster have a 2-prong plug on it?



Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
brric (04-16-2012), gregzoll (04-16-2012)
Old 04-16-2012, 02:07 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
jbfan's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 6,681
Rewards Points: 110

It is really unsafe to plug in anything with a known fault.

If the toaster has 2 prongs, go for it.
"The problem isn't that Hillary Clinton lies. We all know she lies. The problem is that her supporters don't seem to care"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (04-16-2012)
Old 04-16-2012, 03:42 PM   #4
Tool Geek
PaliBob's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pacific Palisades CA
Posts: 2,590
Rewards Points: 2,160

All the new toasters have 2-prong plugs.
But make sure that your toaster is not one of the many recalled:
Then Click on: "Contact Us"' to inquire about your specific model number,

The CPSC does not have any 3-prong recommendation for future toasters, but they do have a Home Electrical Safety Checklist that covers the kitchen:
& Stay Safe
.....Bob Lavery
PaliBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 03:54 PM   #5
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652

The only places that I have seen toasters and clothing irons with three prong plugs, is in a commercial setting and in the Navy. If the device is faulty, it needs to be disabled by cutting the power cord off, and either tossed in the trash, or taken to a recycling center.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
220, two wire, hard wire, to 4 prong outlet jasesselstyn Electrical 9 11-27-2010 08:59 PM
Installing 3 prong outlet wwcpacwrc23 Electrical 3 10-24-2010 09:15 AM
confused on a 3 prong 230 plug vinylman70 Electrical 9 02-02-2010 12:06 AM
3 PRONG vs. 4 PRONG OVEN OUTLET? Casey_Oakland Electrical 17 05-21-2009 08:26 PM
New plug for toaster oven? mike720 Electrical 3 11-23-2008 07:44 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1