Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-18-2011, 05:52 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

ok? - more than 1 line per switch box?


I am doing a bathroom, I have 3 separate circuits, can I put all the switches into 1 box? 2 - single poles, 1 - (two function control - 2 switches)

I live in new jersey if that matters.

1 circuit for 2 recessed lights
1 circuit for 1 UL damp recessed light with glass cover
1 circuit for Nu-tone exhaust fan/heater (this will have the two function control)



Thanks!

navy721 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 06:04 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 1,986
Default

ok? - more than 1 line per switch box?


Yes, get a 3-gang box:

Old work:
Name:  box.jpg
Views: 111
Size:  2.2 KB

New work:
Name:  box2.jpg
Views: 114
Size:  1.9 KB

bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 06:07 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
Default

ok? - more than 1 line per switch box?


THANKS!

Where can I find that this okay per state code? I am doing a favor for my buddy, and he says its not legal... driving me crazy. I've looked over the code but can find anything specific -
navy721 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 07:10 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,784
Default

ok? - more than 1 line per switch box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by navy721 View Post

1 circuit for 2 recessed lights
1 circuit for 1 UL damp recessed light with glass cover
Are you saying you ran TWO circuits for just this?? WHY????



If your friend thinks it is SO illegal tell HIM to prove it.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 08:04 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,867
Default

ok? - more than 1 line per switch box?


You may run two (or more) feed cables to the same (multi-gang) switch box but make sure that the neutral for each light or other load goes with the hot wire feeding that load. Do not combine the neutrals of both feeds (same or different circuits). So you will have two (or more) bundles of wire nutted white wires.

Do combine all the ground wires. If the grounds don't all fit in one wire nut, have a jumper (pigtail) connecting the two ground wire nuts.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 06-18-2011 at 08:06 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 08:09 PM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,792
Default

ok? - more than 1 line per switch box?


Are you talking about individual circuit feeds or several switch legs from the same feed. The loads you are describing certainly would not require several inndividual circuit feeds but that would be okay.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 11:38 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,892
Default

ok? - more than 1 line per switch box?


When we redid our bath, we had a situation, that we thought of running the same circuit for the fan as the outlets, but then re-decided to rethink the lay out to make it easy. In your situation, do the same as us. One 20 amp for the outlets, and a 15 amp for the exhaust & lighting. For the lightening, my wife wanted one switch for the fan, one for the light in the fan, and one switch for the light over the mirror that was over the sink. If it was up to me, I would have one switch to control all lights in the bath, and use a triple-gang with blank to have only two switches. One for the lights, and one that did the fan. This is on my list of things to change, since it drives me nuts a year and a half later.
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 11:49 PM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

ok? - more than 1 line per switch box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by navy721 View Post
I am doing a bathroom, I have 3 separate circuits, can I put all the switches into 1 box? 2 - single poles, 1 - (two function control - 2 switches)

I live in new jersey if that matters.

1 circuit for 2 recessed lights
1 circuit for 1 UL damp recessed light with glass cover
1 circuit for Nu-tone exhaust fan/heater (this will have the two function control)



Thanks!
Naw you don't really need that MANY circuits at all the exhaust/heater unit it will be it own circuit but for the luminaires { light fixures } you can use them on genral lighting circuit.

That way you will not get this box overcrowed and get confused with which is which.

Few of us done more crazier than that. { commercal electrical system is different story but same situation }

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 07:25 PM
3-way switch help amit Electrical 17 02-15-2010 03:17 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 07:11 AM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.