Ok? - More Than 1 Line Per Switch Box? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2011, 06:52 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

ok? - more than 1 line per switch box?


I am doing a bathroom, I have 3 separate circuits, can I put all the switches into 1 box? 2 - single poles, 1 - (two function control - 2 switches)

I live in new jersey if that matters.

1 circuit for 2 recessed lights
1 circuit for 1 UL damp recessed light with glass cover
1 circuit for Nu-tone exhaust fan/heater (this will have the two function control)



Thanks!

Advertisement

navy721 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 07:04 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 2,300
Rewards Points: 1,520
Default


Yes, get a 3-gang box:

Old work:
Name:  box.jpg
Views: 116
Size:  2.2 KB

New work:
Name:  box2.jpg
Views: 120
Size:  1.9 KB

Advertisement

bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 07:07 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default


THANKS!

Where can I find that this okay per state code? I am doing a favor for my buddy, and he says its not legal... driving me crazy. I've looked over the code but can find anything specific -
navy721 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 08:10 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,736
Rewards Points: 1,822
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by navy721 View Post

1 circuit for 2 recessed lights
1 circuit for 1 UL damp recessed light with glass cover
Are you saying you ran TWO circuits for just this?? WHY????



If your friend thinks it is SO illegal tell HIM to prove it.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 09:04 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 7,906
Rewards Points: 1,418
Default


You may run two (or more) feed cables to the same (multi-gang) switch box but make sure that the neutral for each light or other load goes with the hot wire feeding that load. Do not combine the neutrals of both feeds (same or different circuits). So you will have two (or more) bundles of wire nutted white wires.

Do combine all the ground wires. If the grounds don't all fit in one wire nut, have a jumper (pigtail) connecting the two ground wire nuts.
__________________
The good conscientious technician or serviceperson will carry extra oils and lubricants in case the new pump did not come with oil or the oil was accidentally spilled, so the service call can be completed without an extra visit.

Last edited by AllanJ; 06-18-2011 at 09:06 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 09:09 PM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 3,711
Rewards Points: 3,678
Default


Are you talking about individual circuit feeds or several switch legs from the same feed. The loads you are describing certainly would not require several inndividual circuit feeds but that would be okay.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 12:38 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652
Default


When we redid our bath, we had a situation, that we thought of running the same circuit for the fan as the outlets, but then re-decided to rethink the lay out to make it easy. In your situation, do the same as us. One 20 amp for the outlets, and a 15 amp for the exhaust & lighting. For the lightening, my wife wanted one switch for the fan, one for the light in the fan, and one switch for the light over the mirror that was over the sink. If it was up to me, I would have one switch to control all lights in the bath, and use a triple-gang with blank to have only two switches. One for the lights, and one that did the fan. This is on my list of things to change, since it drives me nuts a year and a half later.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2011, 12:49 AM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default


Quote:
Originally Posted by navy721 View Post
I am doing a bathroom, I have 3 separate circuits, can I put all the switches into 1 box? 2 - single poles, 1 - (two function control - 2 switches)

I live in new jersey if that matters.

1 circuit for 2 recessed lights
1 circuit for 1 UL damp recessed light with glass cover
1 circuit for Nu-tone exhaust fan/heater (this will have the two function control)



Thanks!
Naw you don't really need that MANY circuits at all the exhaust/heater unit it will be it own circuit but for the luminaires { light fixures } you can use them on genral lighting circuit.

That way you will not get this box overcrowed and get confused with which is which.

Few of us done more crazier than that. { commercal electrical system is different story but same situation }

Merci,
Marc

Advertisement

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 08:25 PM
3-way switch help amit Electrical 17 02-15-2010 04:17 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 10:33 AM
4 way switch confusion Richo Electrical 10 04-09-2009 08:11 AM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 02:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1