Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-10-2006, 10:59 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Share |
Question

ok to leave chandelier third wire unconnected?


Hi,

I'm replacing a single-bulb ceiling fixture with a chandelier with five 40-watt type B bulbs. We live in a rustic A-frame, and the old fixture was simply screwed into the ceiling/upstairs floorboards, with a hot and neutral wire running along a ceiling beam, down a wall beam, to a switch. The new chandelier has a third wire which is supposed to be attached to the grounding screw in the electrical box/mounting strap in the ceiling--but we have no electical box/mounting strap there. Is it okay not to connect the grounding wire of the chandelier? Should I connect the grounding wire to the neutral wire? I'd appreciate any advice you may have.

Thanks!

Chris

gonzales9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 11:07 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 253
Default

ok to leave chandelier third wire unconnected?


I think what you have is totally non-complying with the code so it would be hard to advise you unless you were interested in bringing it up to code. Maybe some of the other guys will be along with some different advice. HS.

K2eoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2006, 05:23 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

ok to leave chandelier third wire unconnected?


You'd be best served to install some sort of box to hang the chandelier. In fact you MUST do this to be legal and safe.
I've seen way too many of these in my day and it always amazes me that anyone would install a fixture this way.
Does the cable have a ground?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 08:23 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Default

ok to leave chandelier third wire unconnected?


Hi Speedy Petey,

Thanks for your reply. The existing fixture did not have a ground. Just a sixty watt bulb in a hanging-lantern fixture, and hot and neutral wires running to a switch. I'm persuaded by the advice you and others give here, that we should install an electrical box with a proper mounting strap and ground. The challenge will be to find an electrical box that will look right with our ceiling. The ceiling boards are the same as the upstairs floorboards, so there's no room to recess the electrical box. Any suggestions where I might find a box that would look good with the hand-hewn beams and ceiling boards? Thanks again for your advice.


Chris
gonzales9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2006, 09:15 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,772
Default

ok to leave chandelier third wire unconnected?


How about a round Wiremold box painted to match either the wood color or the fixture color. This way it will look like part of the fixture as opposed to just a box.
You can come into the back of the WM box with an NM connector.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2006, 08:10 PM   #6
World famous jerk.
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: central PA
Posts: 440
Default

ok to leave chandelier third wire unconnected?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey
How about a round Wiremold box painted to match either the wood color or the fixture color. This way it will look like part of the fixture as opposed to just a box.
You can come into the back of the WM box with an NM connector.
I second that suggestion. Round Wiremold boxes are available in many diameters at the electrical supply house. I'm certain that you'll be able to get one the same diameter as the canopy of the chandelier. This way, to the untrained eye, the box will not be at all notciable. Especially if you paint it to match the wood or the fixture, as Speedy suggests. The other option is to recess a 1/2" deep "pancake box" into the beam if the beam is decorative. If the beam is structural, don't do that.

mdshunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How much wire to leave in box? Nhrafan Electrical 7 04-13-2007 04:03 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM
Does a 6 x 12ga wire nut exist? peeks Electrical 1 10-02-2005 09:58 AM
6/4 wire ? alabamaa Electrical 2 06-01-2005 06:14 AM
wire size wire to 10kw furnace? lochcarron Electrical 1 04-10-2005 07:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.