Is It OK To Have 12-2 Romex In 1/2" Outdoor Conduit - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2009, 09:58 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 75
Default

is it OK to have 12-2 romex in 1/2" outdoor conduit


I'm planning on installing an outdoor hot tub and want to make sure my plan is correct. The hot tub requires a single 120V 20A circuit. The hot tub itself has a GFI built into the plug, and I plan on driving an 8-ft grounding rod next to the hot tub.

I plan on running 12-2 w/ground from my service panel all the way to the hot tub and terminating the 12-2 with a plug that will match up with the one on the tub. The section of wire that is outside will be encased in 1/2" outdoor flexible waterproof conduit. Will this be OK?

Thanks

Advertisement

red86yota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 10:16 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

is it OK to have 12-2 romex in 1/2" outdoor conduit


No. It will not. There are many problems with your plan. Are you sure the tub only requires 120V? Is this one of those inflatable ones?

Advertisement

jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 10:22 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

is it OK to have 12-2 romex in 1/2" outdoor conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
No. It will not. There are many problems with your plan.
Too numerous to mention.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 10:38 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 75
Default

is it OK to have 12-2 romex in 1/2" outdoor conduit


I'm sure the tub only needs 120V 20A. It's an older one.

OK, so back to the drawing board... Is it the romex in the 1/2" conduit that is the problem? Should I put a junction box in the basement that brings in 12-2 romex, connect that to THHN, and send the THHN to the hot tub through the outdoor conduit? Then have a junction box/outlet in the tub enclosure?

Does the circuit need to be on a GFCI breaker, or is the GFCI on the hot tub end OK for that?
red86yota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 11:22 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

is it OK to have 12-2 romex in 1/2" outdoor conduit


Read this and any other information you can BEFORE proceeding! http://www.spaspecialist.com/oct98.html

This is not for a DIY'er unless you are certain to follow instructions. There is help here too. Please be careful.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 12:58 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 75
Default

is it OK to have 12-2 romex in 1/2" outdoor conduit


thanks for the link and concern for my safety. i've included this hot tub install on my permit for the wiring on my new home addition i'm building. so everything will be inspected and up-to-code. i've got a good handle on wiring the circuits for the outlets and lights in the new bed/bath i've put in, but i'm not so sure about outside stuff - like the hot tub.

the hot tub was previously owned by friends who are moving. i'm sure things have changed in the 8 years since it was first installed, but the wiring description in my first post is how the pro hot tub guys initially installed it. except they didn't even have a grounding rod.

i just want to install it correctly and not get any weird looks from the inspector
red86yota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 01:27 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,002
Rewards Points: 506
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

is it OK to have 12-2 romex in 1/2" outdoor conduit


I believe one of the big no-no's is the bare ground wire supplying the circuit for the hot tub. My understanding is it must be fully insulated. Also, romex is never allowed in conduit of any sort in any wet location. My reccomendation would be to run conduit and THWN directly from your panel to the new outlet. Pools and Hot tubs have some very strict requirements for the electrical service, I'd suggest you search the forums here for pool or hot tub related threads as this has all been discussed on here earlier.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 02:03 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 149
Rewards Points: 75
Default

is it OK to have 12-2 romex in 1/2" outdoor conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by theatretch85 View Post
Also, romex is never allowed in conduit of any sort in any wet location.
Agreed!
Quote:
Originally Posted by theatretch85 View Post
My reccomendation would be to run conduit and THWN directly from your panel to the new outlet.
Also Agreed!
Or it min. you install a disconnect box on the back of the house and run romex inside the house from the panel to the disconnect box or juction box then run THWN in conduit to the disconnect at the spa.

We need more info on this spa tho. Is this a hardwired spa or does it have a plug. (I have not even seen one with a plug or one that's 110 put outdoors)
Any outdoor plug is going to have to be GFIC either on the plug or on the circuit breaker no matter whats getting plugged into it. That's required.
integlikewhoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 03:17 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 75
Default

is it OK to have 12-2 romex in 1/2" outdoor conduit


thank you for the replies.

the spa info is in the first post, but basically, it is an older (8-year old) spa that needs a single 120V, 20A circuit. The spa has a GFCI plug.

would it be OK to run 12-2 romex in the house to a junction box in the basement near where the power needs to go outside. then junction some 12g THWN to the romex and send it to the hot tub using 1/2" flex outdoor conduit? the conduit would be under a deck, does it need to be buried? the conduit will be underground near the spa because it needs to come up into the spa enclosure from below grade. the male spa GFCI plug is inside this enclosure.
red86yota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 03:52 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,205
Rewards Points: 506
Default

is it OK to have 12-2 romex in 1/2" outdoor conduit


I believe that, despite your spa having its own GFCI on the plug, you must install a GFCI receptacle outside at the spa, or a GFCI breaker in your panel.
The outdoor receptacle must have a cover that keeps it waterproof while the plug is in - the bubble type of cover.

I don't know for sure, but I think you could use type UF cable instead of the conduit, if that suits the installation. Again, you need to read the specific code for pools and spas.
__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 05:19 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

is it OK to have 12-2 romex in 1/2" outdoor conduit


Quote:
would it be OK to run 12-2 romex in the house to a junction box in the basement near where the power needs to go outside. then junction some 12g THWN to the romex and send it to the hot tub using 1/2" flex outdoor conduit?

Yes.


If you run UF cable, which is just like NM with a more weatherproof sheath, you could run it thru the house then sleeve the outside portion with nonmetallic flex under the deck to the tub.

The flex will have to be rated for underground and buried 18". PVC will work nicely underground also.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 05:27 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

is it OK to have 12-2 romex in 1/2" outdoor conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Yes.


If you run UF cable, which is just like NM with a more weatherproof sheath, you could run it thru the house then sleeve the outside portion with nonmetallic flex under the deck to the tub.

The flex will have to be rated for underground and buried 18". PVC will work nicely underground also.
UF for an outdoor hot tub? Doesn't that violate a code or two? I still want know if this thing is really a "hot tub." 20A, 120V? I don't see the water getting very warm during the winter...

Last edited by jerryh3; 01-15-2009 at 05:29 PM.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 06:03 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 149
Rewards Points: 75
Default

is it OK to have 12-2 romex in 1/2" outdoor conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
UF for an outdoor hot tub? Doesn't that violate a code or two? I still want know if this thing is really a "hot tub." 20A, 120V? I don't see the water getting very warm during the winter...
I dont know about the hot tub either, but I think codes are going to be different sinc basicly he is putting a outdoor outlet or plug and what he plugs into it is his deal. Its not a common hardwired with disconnect hot tub. If you pull permits and install an outdoor plug for what ever. Then later decieded to plug in a let say a moveable hot tub i dont think you would have a problem.

Like what was said tho. All outdoor outlets need to have some type of GFIC. On the plug or on the breaker up to you.

UF cable (like romex but gray and waterproof shield) would work and can be run the entire way. Also what you sugested would work to.
integlikewhoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 08:17 PM   #14
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,017
Rewards Points: 2,832
Default

is it OK to have 12-2 romex in 1/2" outdoor conduit


UF cannot be used for a hot tub. Like the NM the ground wire is not insulated, it is only covered.

Also do NOT drive a grounding rod at the tub.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 08:40 PM   #15
Licensed Electrician
 
Magnettica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rahway, NJ
Posts: 168
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to Magnettica
Default

is it OK to have 12-2 romex in 1/2" outdoor conduit


The equipment grounding conductor only has to be insulated from where it leaves the inside of the house to it's termination point at the hot tub.

Advertisement

Magnettica is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cost Difference Between Conduit & Romex Shawns4 Electrical 39 08-25-2008 06:01 PM
Exposed Romex Questions bakerhouse Electrical 1 05-13-2008 12:15 PM
Running Romex in the attic mdalli Electrical 7 07-06-2006 06:35 PM
Pulling romex thru wall with old romex? Doug Crf Electrical 4 04-11-2006 10:33 AM
Romex to BX fifaboy Electrical 1 02-27-2005 05:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts