Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-15-2012, 05:25 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Wink

ohms at 110 outlets with the CB open?


I get 18-20 oms accross my 110 outlets with the CB open. Why or is this normal?

a6pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 05:30 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 78
Default

ohms at 110 outlets with the CB open?


You have something plugged into another plug on the same circuit?

fdiddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 05:31 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Default

ohms at 110 outlets with the CB open?


Why would you be checking this???
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (02-15-2012), hawkeye11 (02-15-2012), Mikenra (02-16-2012), plummen (02-16-2012)
Old 02-15-2012, 06:31 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,114
Default

ohms at 110 outlets with the CB open?


Quote:
Originally Posted by a6pilot View Post
I get 18-20 oms accross my 110 outlets with the CB open. Why or is this normal?
Okay. And your point is?
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
hawkeye11 (02-15-2012), Mikenra (02-16-2012), plummen (02-16-2012)
Old 02-15-2012, 08:07 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

ohms at 110 outlets with the CB open?


Quote:
Originally Posted by a6pilot View Post
I get 18-20 oms accross my 110 outlets with the CB open. Why or is this normal?
If nothing is plugged into any outlet and all switches are off, then no - you should read many megohms or gigaohms.

If something is plugged into one or more outlets, then maybe. The cold resistance of a 50w incand. bulb could read like this.

If your meter has a diode check you may get even more puzzling readings from these outlets.

What's even more difficult to explain is why this kind of question annoys people.
I guess it's because you're first supposed to have a purpose in making measurements, rather than making measurements first and then wondering what they could mean.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 02-15-2012 at 08:22 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 09:02 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,946
Default

ohms at 110 outlets with the CB open?


Never try to measure ohms or continuity with the power on.

You can fry the meter.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 09:27 PM   #7
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Default

ohms at 110 outlets with the CB open?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post

What's even more difficult to explain is why this kind of question annoys people.
And you say this why? Did someone in the room with you get annoyed when they read it?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 09:29 PM   #8
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,550
Default

ohms at 110 outlets with the CB open?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
What's even more difficult to explain is why this kind of question annoys people.
I guess it's because you're first supposed to have a purpose in making measurements, rather than making measurements first and then wondering what they could mean.
It's alarming because using a resistance meter on a circuit that is wired to a power source is something that should only be done if you know what you're doing. Accidentally trying to measure the resistance of a power source produces a fireworks display. I think it's fair to say that if someone is perplexed by these results, they shouldn't be using an ohmmeter on anything that's connected to the panel.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (02-15-2012), Jim Port (02-16-2012), Mikenra (02-16-2012), Missouri Bound (02-15-2012), Speedy Petey (02-15-2012)
Old 02-15-2012, 09:42 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

ohms at 110 outlets with the CB open?


What is an om?
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 09:44 PM   #10
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,865
Default

ohms at 110 outlets with the CB open?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmran View Post
What is an om?
That's what one chants when meditating.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (02-16-2012), plummen (02-16-2012)
Old 02-15-2012, 09:46 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

ohms at 110 outlets with the CB open?


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric
That's what one chants when meditating.
Jackie Gleason did it well in a famous (?) Trans-Am movie.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 09:47 PM   #12
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,238
Default

ohms at 110 outlets with the CB open?


I would look for a door bell or HVAC transformer.....your 'ohm' reading sounds about right for one of those....
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 09:53 PM   #13
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,865
Default

ohms at 110 outlets with the CB open?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmran View Post
Jackie Gleason did it well in a famous (?) Trans-Am movie.
Smokey and the Bandit?
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 09:54 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

ohms at 110 outlets with the CB open?


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric
Smokey and the Bandit?
Nope...Smokey and the Bandit II.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2012, 06:32 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 605
Default

ohms at 110 outlets with the CB open?


This is why I love my clamp on ammeter. Just clamp it around the hot wire on the breaker and see what current is being drawn. I only spent $25 or so for it. It's not a Fluke but good enough for my usage.

I got it from harbor freight tools.

curiousB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can these outlets be grounded? KDOC Electrical 28 01-12-2012 08:39 PM
New Outlets on 15 amp line RocketManZ Electrical 20 10-24-2011 05:52 PM
Replacing old outlets (grounded vs none) Sonya_ Electrical 14 10-07-2011 11:37 PM
Gfi outlets keep tripping but not constantly INEEDHELPPLZ1 Electrical 22 09-30-2011 08:28 AM
Grounding outlets... bigdaddyII Electrical 12 08-28-2011 02:22 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.