Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-07-2011, 10:48 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 38
Share |
Default

OCD kicking in again


Doing some work on the basement still and I'm running a 3 way light circuit to control hallway lights ect, so I have a 12/2 and a 12/3 run going to the box. I have been using regular Carlon single gang boxes that has the wire knockouts throughout the entire basement for light switches and outlet boxes where appropriate



and had a question about the 3 way application that I couldn't find an answer to in the code book.

Being I'm running a flat cable "12/2" with an oval cable "12/3" I didn't like the idea of using staples in that case so I'm securing them to the stud using stack-its. Does using stack-its suffice as proper mechanical securement in these types of boxes, or should I use a box that has a mechanical locking device on it for the NM? I know in the the other types of boxes there is actually a tab that locks the NM down in the box, vs having it just hang there and be secured within 8" by a staple. I'm just wondering if the wire would be properly secured being the stack-it's more or less guide the wire they don't lock it into a position. It's not a huge deal to get a different box and redo that one, but figured somebody on here would know the answer and point me to the location in the code book. Again I looked and didn't have any luck finding a reference. Thanks guys.

Last edited by kossuth; 06-07-2011 at 10:53 AM.
kossuth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 10:55 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,475
Default

OCD kicking in again


Yes, stack-it count as being secured.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
kossuth (06-07-2011)
Old 06-07-2011, 11:47 AM   #3
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

OCD kicking in again


I saw the header to the thread and thought it meant Over-Current Device

My bad
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 03:47 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 38
Default

OCD kicking in again


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
I saw the header to the thread and thought it meant Over-Current Device

My bad
LOL...Thanks jbfan.
kossuth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 04:26 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Default

OCD kicking in again


Today I learned what a stack-it is - thanks!
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 06:13 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,311
Default

OCD kicking in again


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
I saw the header to the thread and thought it meant Over-Current Device

My bad
So we know you're not anal
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 06:28 PM   #7
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

OCD kicking in again


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
I saw the header to the thread and thought it meant Over-Current Device

My bad


DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 07:32 PM   #8
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

OCD kicking in again


Good one !
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace not kicking on unless thermostat is turned off then on sharkbait HVAC 14 12-31-2010 11:27 AM
Central air compressor kicking in but not staying on EMkid HVAC 2 05-10-2010 05:36 PM
Furnace not kicking on mterracciano HVAC 1 01-29-2010 07:23 AM
Blower not kicking in Appalachian HVAC 2 12-10-2009 06:40 PM
Sprinkler Pump keeps kicking on and off while running Slimyjack Plumbing 2 06-21-2009 11:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.