Occupancy Sensors - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2010, 10:41 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Occupancy Sensors


I have three fluorescent fixtures in my garage, each containing two tubes. I have purchased occupancy sensors at Home Depot for the garage, but they always fail. An electrician told me yesterday that I probably need a commercial grade 15 amp sensor, and he told me to check out Leviton's web site. I did so, but they have so many models, I don't know what is the right one. I'm looking for a 180 degree wall-mounted sensor/switch that can handle the load described above and cover about 500 square feet. Any Leviton model numbers would be appreciated.

Also, I have a regular ceiling light in the pantry controlled by an occupancy switch. However, when I replaced the bulb with a CFL, it would not shut off, but would continuously flicker. The electrician also said Leviton makes sensors designed for CFLs, but he didn't give me a model number. Again, any recommendations appreciated. This is a small room with a double bulb ceiling light, so I imagine a residential grade sensor is sufficient.

Thanks for any advice!

Advertisement

trclac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2010, 11:20 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Occupancy Sensors


You need a sensor that requires a neutral wire connection to operate properly. Leviton, P&S, and others make models that have that configuration.

Advertisement

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 03:21 AM   #3
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Occupancy Sensors


KBsparky is correct you need a motion sensor or occupancy sensor that do need netrual conductor to function properly with flourscent load due the ballast they play tricks on them.

I know one maybe two may work with two wire set up but I never go that route and normally I used Wattstopper they are pretty good with me.

Just make sure you get one with netural and there are few verison you can get them.

Merci,
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2010, 01:14 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Occupancy Sensors


The Leviton unit you are looking for is a ODS10-IDW. The cheaper resi grade sensors don't work on any flourescent load that isn't a rapid start magnetic ballast(old technology).
LazyC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Occupancy Sensor RoyD Electrical 6 05-11-2011 03:24 PM
Problem with occupancy sensor KE2KB Electrical 0 09-04-2010 08:43 PM
Installing 3-way occupancy sensor westbank Electrical 6 05-04-2010 06:08 PM
Longer On Time for Occupancy Sensor? KE2KB Electrical 7 12-22-2009 09:03 PM
Occupancy Sensors KE2KB Electrical 5 02-26-2009 03:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts