Occupancy Sensor Help - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2012, 05:57 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Occupancy Sensor Help


Im looking to install an Occupany Sensor in the garage on the main fluorescent light above. the Cooper brand sensors (from what ive read) dont work too well with fluorescent light fixtures.

ive read Leviton should work well with them possibly through their commercial line. probelm is they have well over 50 products to choose from and i dont know what specs i should be looking for.

Ive also read that you need to know if your fluorescent fixture has magnetic or electronic ballasts. if true, how can i tell by looking at the fixture which one i have?


Leviton Switches: http://www.leviton.com/OA_HTML/Secti...emsPerPage=All


thanks for any and all help anyone can provide

Advertisement

seasoned vet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 07:56 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Occupancy Sensor Help


the ballast should say right on it if it's electronic or magnetic. If the fixtures fairly new it'll likely be electronic. The levitron switches are decent, lutron makes a better one but your looking at more money for it. I've done tons of occupancy sensors in office buildings, as long as you get the right switch to marry to your ballast you should have no problem at all.

Advertisement

__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 08:29 PM   #3
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 703
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Occupancy Sensor Help


I've had no problems with 'Sensor Switch' Cat # WSD(IR Only) or WSD-PDT (Ultrasonic/IR)

They do require a ground connection.
Techy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 01:14 AM   #4
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,651
Rewards Points: 2,616
Default

Occupancy Sensor Help


I just installed some Lutron occupancy sensors in my house....very happy with how they work.

Model MS-OPS2-WH (the WH means White).

They work for basically all lights....one of them is controlling some CFL's...the other an LED light.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
three way switch with occupancy censor up and down stairs izzyam Electrical 8 03-19-2011 05:43 PM
Occupancy Sensors trclac Electrical 3 10-14-2010 01:14 PM
Problem with occupancy sensor KE2KB Electrical 0 09-04-2010 08:43 PM
Installing 3-way occupancy sensor westbank Electrical 6 05-04-2010 06:08 PM
Longer On Time for Occupancy Sensor? KE2KB Electrical 7 12-22-2009 09:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts