Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-11-2009, 10:06 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Occupancy Sensor: Did I wire it correctly?


Hi all,

I have replaced a single light bulb in my garage with a hi-bay fluorescent fixture with a 360 degree occupancy sensor. I wired it up as I understood and the light works from the light switch, but the sensor doesn't seem to do anything.

Can somebody verify if I have wired it correctly?

What wires I have:
Ceiling - black, white, copper

Sensor - black, black, white

flourescent fixture - black, white, copper

How I wired it:
Ceilng Black -> Sensor Black #1

Ceiling White -> Sensor White & Fixture White

Sensor Black #2 -> Fixture Black

Fixture Copper -> Ceiling Copper

The sensor documentation indicates it detects if the black wires are backwards and adjusts for it.

Is this wired correctly?

Kohai

Sensor doc:
http://www.sensorswitch.com/DataSheets/CMRB-6.pdf

kohaiut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 10:09 AM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,439
Default

Occupancy Sensor: Did I wire it correctly?


Did you turn the wall switch on? It won't work if you leave the wall switch off.

joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 10:26 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Occupancy Sensor: Did I wire it correctly?


The sensor's factory default is to turn the light off after 10 minutes of inactivity. It just seems to stay on and not turn off.
kohaiut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 11:28 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Default

Occupancy Sensor: Did I wire it correctly?


Check out page one of the data sheet.
Look at start to high section.

It says that the PIR sensor has a 100 hr lamp burn in feature and tells how to tell by looking at the led if this is turned on.

There are no clear directions on how to change the mode, and I looked at the web site and see no other downloads. Purhaps you recieved a seperate set of directions with the sensor.

In addition look for other modes that can sometimes be changed by turning the wall switch on/off rapidly. Some PIR sensors have an always on mode and then an under control mode that can be switched this way.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 12:21 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Occupancy Sensor: Did I wire it correctly?


I did see mention of the 100 hr burn-in. The product came with a card mentioning it is off by default but that the LED will tell me what it is set at along with the time delay settings.

However, for the life of me, I can't find the LED light on the unit. I don't see anything blinking. I've tried looking at their site to try to find a diagram of the unit showing me where the LED is supposed to be. Sure makes me feel like an idiot.
kohaiut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 01:00 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 682
Default

Occupancy Sensor: Did I wire it correctly?


I believe you have it wired right. You will need to figure out how to set the timers and mode.

It may be done by dip switches on the device itself.
__________________
Master Electrician
jwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 01:05 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Occupancy Sensor: Did I wire it correctly?


Thanks for the help. It is good to know the wiring is probably not the issue. I'll bug SensorSwitch's tech support about the LED.

For the search engines, the sensor I'm using is the SensorSwitch CMRB-6.
kohaiut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 10:13 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Occupancy Sensor: Did I wire it correctly?


After talking to their tech support, which was easy to get to and friendly, it turns out my white/neutral wire was loose and not making a solid connection. Doh!

kohaiut is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fluorescent lights, sensor


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Stove, old wires - 2 wire vs 3 wire DIYGST Electrical 22 03-02-2009 04:13 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Dryer Grounding??? Traci_howdyadothat Electrical 7 05-27-2008 01:14 PM
Installing Fluorescents in Garage rzrbkpk Electrical 26 04-08-2008 09:00 PM
Stranded wire on screw connections BigJimmy Electrical 7 01-19-2008 02:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.