Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-28-2010, 08:45 PM   #1
Doomed DIY'er

Rewards Points: 10

Occupancy Sensor

I've wired a Leviton PR-180 (from Home Depot) occupancy sensor to a 4-bulb fluorescent light fixture. The fixture is using T12 bulbs, but I'd have to take it apart to see what kind of ballest it's using. If my information is correct, T12 bulbs should be a good indictor it's a magnetic ballest which is compatible with this switch.

I have three things going on with this and I'd love to find out why and how to resolve it.
  1. When on motion-activation, the light is dim and hums
  2. When at the standard "On" position, the light appears to be normal brightness but it continues to hum.
  3. The wiring in the house is a few years old and does not include a ground wire. So I taped off the ground wire and did not connected it to anything.
This is my first attempt at electrical DIY, so, I might have made some elementry error. Any insight into a cause and solution would be appreciated.

clayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 08:44 AM   #2
DIY'er

Rewards Points: 1,000

Occupancy Sensor

Quote:
Originally Posted by clayman View Post
I've wired a Leviton PR-180 (from Home Depot) occupancy sensor to a 4-bulb fluorescent light fixture. The fixture is using T12 bulbs, but I'd have to take it apart to see what kind of ballest it's using. If my information is correct, T12 bulbs should be a good indictor it's a magnetic ballest which is compatible with this switch.

I have three things going on with this and I'd love to find out why and how to resolve it.
  1. When on motion-activation, the light is dim and hums
  2. When at the standard "On" position, the light appears to be normal brightness but it continues to hum.