Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-13-2007, 10:12 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 46
Share |
Default

Obsolete sub-panel


I am new as well and unfortunately posted this on the electricians site - and was told to "hire an electrician" - I have been doing my own electrical work for a long time....anyway here goes again - I have a 100A panel in the basement which had been updated some time ago - there is also a sub-panel upstairs in the back hallway - it is a Square D very old 70A panel with 8 breakers - 6 1/2" x 10" (I sent an email to Sq D and they could not find the panel) - several of the breakers do not work so I have had to move branch circuits areound a couple of times to keep them operating - this panel mostly feeds the 1st and second floors - second floor two bedrooms and bath and large closet - probably not a lot of service remains and I am going to do that mapping here shortly....the wiring is all B/W and W - cloth wrapped and of course no ground wire on the remaining circuits.....so my question is can I just buy a small 100A panel and do as best what I can to replace it completely with the wiring that is there or spend the next six months trying to fish new wire to all of the remaining service locations - obviously the latter would be preferred - I live in NY and need to know what is allowed......Any comments/suggestions would be appreciated......
Thanks,
Rick
Rick Bruner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 03:32 PM   #2
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Obsolete sub-panel


I would just replace the sub-panel as you are thinking. My observation is that by moving your breakers around seems to restore a non-functioning branch circuit to one that works. So a good first step would be to replace the sub. A 100 amp 6 slot 12 circuit would be pretty good choice I think.

The old cloth wrapped wiring is usually fine. Where you really have problems with it is at light fixtures where the insulation of the wires becomes brittle from the heat generated by the lamps over time.

You are going to have a few issues with the existing feeder as it is most likely a 3 wire feeder since your wiring has no equipment ground. Its been my experience that the inspector many times will allow the replacement panel only and keep the 3 wire feeder. You should check with your codes department.

Remember there is no way to bond the metal panel to a fault path without using the neutral wire of the feeder. This is not wanted. So not as safe as modern nm-b wiring that has an equipment ground where you are able to isolate the neutral and equipment ground at the sub.

Also remember that you are not allowed to extend branch circuits that do not have equipment ground. You must leave them as they exist.

Did I get even close to answering your question?

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 04:11 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 247
Default

Obsolete sub-panel


It might be cheaper to call an electrician - they might have more contacts to find replacement breakers. If you can find an Electrical supply place that will sell to the public, they might be able to find a replacement.

I doubt if the manufacture put much effort into finding you an answer.

Last edited by tribe_fan; 05-13-2007 at 04:15 PM.
tribe_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 04:24 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 46
Default

Obsolete sub-panel


Stubbie.....
Thanks much for the quick reply - all of what you said is where I was tentatively headed assuming some confirmation....I certainly do appreciate the extra tips as well - I had just read about the bonding and you have again confirmed what I have read.....I looked below your name - I thought that it was going to say IBEW instead of UAW.....Anyway hope all of the wires reach - otherwise I am going to have pigtails in the box.....I have two now.....by the way with the old panel the breakers do not remove so it is moving the branch circuits to other breaker positions - this box is really old and in bad shape....that concerns me more than the circuits....Thanks again....

Tribe fan....
I talked to a couple of electricians and one said he would not touch it - leave as is....which was about ten years ago - the breakers have a solid metal cover plate over all eight so they are unfortunately not removable....the whole panel is on its last legs....at best...

Thanks again.....!!
Rick
Rick Bruner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
12v diff between ground and neutral at panel am9518 Electrical 7 02-25-2008 06:28 PM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 05:44 PM
Splice in Neutral to Panel - OK or Not? allpraisebob Electrical 4 08-12-2006 05:54 AM
Adding new circuit breakers to 100 amp sub panel DrP Electrical 8 05-25-2006 10:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.