Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-03-2011, 12:39 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 155
Rewards Points: 152
Default

Number of things per connection


Hi All - I recently remodeled the downstairs level of our split level home. When doing so I ran a few 12/3 (white/black/ground) from my electrical panel into my crawl space for future plans.

Its come time that I need a couple of outdoor receptacles. One in the front of the house one in the back. I also want to put up probably three motion sensor flood lights.

I have many more questions but we'll start here.

Can I run those items all off the same 12/3 line?

tb582 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 01:15 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,970
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

Number of things per connection


How many watts for the floodlights. Really high powered tungsten halogen lights would probably mean you need a separate circuit for the three of them.

__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 02:10 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 299
Rewards Points: 278
Default

Number of things per connection


yeah, do a load calc....but if i recall correctly i think no more than 10 fixtures/outlets on any circuit...i'm sure someone can give the exact NEC reference. but that is really a basic guidance and load calcs should always be done.
jcrack_corn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 03:04 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,145
Rewards Points: 3,084
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Number of things per connection


First thing is you don't have 12/3 you only have 12/2. 12/3 has a red wire. The ground doesn't count.
There is no limit in NEC about the number of device on a circuit. Unless you have some hogh wattage lights then there should be no problem with all them on the same circuit.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 04:42 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 155
Rewards Points: 152
Default

Number of things per connection


Thanks - I haven't bought the flood lights yet but probably look at 300w lights.

Its acceptable to run the three lights and two receptacles off of the one 12/2 wire?
tb582 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 05:11 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,970
Rewards Points: 2,036
Default

Number of things per connection


Three 300 watt light fixtures for 900 watts out of the available 2400 watts (20 amps). THis is borderline. Most of the time you would not have a problem with the two outlet boxes on the same circuit, but there may be times at night when you don't have enough power and you trip the breaker.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 08:08 PM   #7
Lic Elect/Inspector/CPO
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Number of things per connection


Per NEC you can only load a circuit to 80% which comes out 1920 watts.
Which is 16 amps
3- 300 watts lights equals 7.5 amps.
Since yiu know how many outlets you are adding, than load calc is 2 outlets x 180 va= 360 / 120- 3 amps
3 +7.5= 10.5 amps
You will be fine.
NJMarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 08:37 PM   #8
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,951
Rewards Points: 2,158
Default

Number of things per connection


Quote:
Originally Posted by NJMarine View Post
Per NEC you can only load a circuit to 80% which comes out 1920 watts.
Which is 16 amps
3- 300 watts lights equals 7.5 amps.
Since yiu know how many outlets you are adding, than load calc is 2 outlets x 180 va= 360 / 120- 3 amps
3 +7.5= 10.5 amps
You will be fine.
That is false. A 20 amp circuit can be loaded to 20 amps. The 80% rating is for continuous loads of 3 hours or more.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
jbfan (05-03-2011), Jim Port (05-06-2011)
Old 05-06-2011, 03:48 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 155
Rewards Points: 152
Default

Number of things per connection


Thanks - I'm actually going with either two or three 200watt lights for the outside plus to
receptacles
.

Now how do I split all of these things off from my one 12/2 wire?
tb582 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 04:18 PM   #10
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,837
Rewards Points: 2,472
Default

Number of things per connection


Are you running power to the switches first or the receptacles? How many switches? Will the receptacles always be on or switch controlled?

I might suggest you read "Wiring Simplified" so you can see some wiring methods.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 04:26 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 155
Rewards Points: 152
Default

Number of things per connection


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Are you running power to the switches first or the receptacles? How many switches? Will the receptacles always be on or switch controlled?

I might suggest you read "Wiring Simplified" so you can see some wiring methods.
Hmm excellent question! I haven't really thought about having the receptacles on a switch. If I do have switches I'll have one for each of the two receptacles.
tb582 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 01:21 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 155
Rewards Points: 152
Default

Number of things per connection


Getting back to this thread... I'm going to forgo the security lights for now and focus on the one outdoor receptacle. I'm going to get the following:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...=ATVPDKIKX0DER

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...=ATVPDKIKX0DER

I have questions on how to run my 12/2 wire which is in the crawl space and goes directly to the breaker box. Now most of my wiring is going to be through the crawl space so I can get a receptacle in the front of my house.

Now I have my 12/2 wire in the crawl space towards the back and there's not much slack. So I think I need a junction box right by that 12/2 wire which allow me to run the actual wire to the front of the house.

What type of junction box?
what type of wire?
I'm going through brick, what do I need to do here?
tb582 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 02:05 PM   #13
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Number of things per connection


Quote:
Originally Posted by tb582 View Post
Now I have my 12/2 wire in the crawl space towards the back and there's not much slack. So I think I need a junction box right by that 12/2 wire which allow me to run the actual wire to the front of the house.

What type of junction box?
what type of wire?
I'm going through brick, what do I need to do here?
Is the crawl space dry and sealed up with a concrete floor?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 03:39 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 155
Rewards Points: 152
Default

Number of things per connection


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
Is the crawl space dry and sealed up with a concrete floor?
Dry, yes, but it has a dirt floor. Probably best not to chance it though
tb582 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 09:55 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 155
Rewards Points: 152
Default

Number of things per connection


bump

tb582 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flexible connection required for propane heater ? SteveB2175 Plumbing 8 04-07-2011 05:22 PM
Leaking Trap Connection bklusa1 Plumbing 3 02-17-2011 10:50 AM
vent hood electrical connection question cbendock Electrical 4 02-12-2011 11:33 PM
Dripping washing machine connection icespide Plumbing 4 11-11-2010 09:41 PM
Telephone Jack Connection Problem jogan Electrical 9 04-20-2009 07:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.