Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-09-2013, 05:58 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: West Hartford, CT
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Number of Receptacles in a Dormer Alcove?


Hello all!

I have been lurking on this site for the past 3 months as I have undertaken an entire remodel (right down to the studs). I am in the process of finishing up my rough electrical and am stuck with a concern regarding electrical receptacles.

The house has 1 dormer and the alcove dimensions are as follows:

36" wide at the window of the dormer
30" wide on both sides of the dormer

To make matters more complicated, the walls abutting the dormer have built in drawers from floor to ceiling that leave about 12" of wall space on both sides of the built ins.

(see diagram if this helps at all)

36"
______
30" l l 30"
l l
_12"_Built in_12"_l l_12"_Built in_12"_

My questions is, is it necessary by code to install one receptacle on each wall in the dormer (3 receptacles in a very tiny space)? Is one receptacle underneath the window adequate as the other 2 outlets would be within 6 feet? Are receptacles needed on the walls with the built ins?

Any help would be greatly appreciated and I would be happy to clarify anything.

Nick


Last edited by chabot150; 01-09-2013 at 06:01 PM. Reason: fix diagram
chabot150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 06:00 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,426
Rewards Points: 192
Default

Number of Receptacles in a Dormer Alcove?


Go back and add your location to your profile, no way to know what your codes are without it.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 06:01 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,795
Rewards Points: 22
Default

Number of Receptacles in a Dormer Alcove?


You don't say were you are from, but the codes states a recepracle shall be installed every 12 liner feet along an unbroken wall.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 06:04 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: West Hartford, CT
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Number of Receptacles in a Dormer Alcove?


location is updated, i apologize. West Hartford, CT
chabot150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 08:08 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: West Hartford, CT
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Number of Receptacles in a Dormer Alcove?


is a dormer an unbroken wall?
chabot150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 09:00 PM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Number of Receptacles in a Dormer Alcove?


Yes. From your description and dimensions, I would say you need 2 receptacles.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 09:43 PM   #7
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,301
Rewards Points: 132
Default

Number of Receptacles in a Dormer Alcove?


K buz....how does the NEC read? Isn't it something like....any wall over 2' must have a recept? An no more than 12' between recepticals?

Personally....I'm not taking chances....I even 'think' I might want a recept there....I'm putting in one.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 09:53 PM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Number of Receptacles in a Dormer Alcove?


Any wall over 2'.

6' from any break in the wall.

12' after the first receptacle.

Basically, at any point on a wall, you have to be within 6' of a receptacle measured by linear wall space.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
ddawg16 (01-09-2013)
Old 01-09-2013, 10:24 PM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Number of Receptacles in a Dormer Alcove?


Just for added LOLs...I have had inspectors require a receptacle installed in a 6"x6" box out for a basement post.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
electures (01-10-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Asphalt shingles on vertical wall dormer helpplease! Roofing/Siding 2 12-13-2010 06:47 AM
3way half switched receptacles Rhyno973 Electrical 2 10-05-2010 02:33 PM
Surface Mounted Receptacles - Big Bulge? HandyMartin Electrical 13 08-10-2010 04:06 PM
Maximum number of receptacles on 15 amp circuit flati Electrical 11 03-07-2010 08:08 AM
Number of receptacles and size of wires KUIPORNG Electrical 5 06-28-2006 01:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.