Novice Needs Electrical Finder Advice - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-24-2012, 09:06 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Novice needs electrical finder advice

Hello. I'm screwing hardibacker board onto a plaster wall. I am a novice homeowner just trying not to get electricuted. I borrowed a zircon multiscanner from a neighbor and it only picks up electrical wires in places that I know they are located about 60% of the time. Now I don't trust this tool and was hoping there is a better tool for less than $100 that you could recommend that will find electric wire or live voltage through a wall. Thank you for your help.
Alisha

Advertisement

agamm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 09:40 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified

Rewards Points: 2,314

Quote:
Originally Posted by agamm View Post
...hoping there is a better tool for less than $100 that you could recommend that will find electric wire or live voltage through a wall. Thank you for your help.
Logical deduction. Detective work.
Generally the only time you'll have wire in a wall is if it needs to be there..
and then it usually comes from something else thats needed. Follow?

In a typical room... the several receptacles at 18-24" above the floor will be fed by the same wire which passes through that wall at about 30"...
(sometimes the wire will go up from then back down to the basement level)

some ideas & examples here: http://bit.ly/AhUN39

hth

Advertisement

TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 10:25 PM   #3