Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-29-2010, 11:40 PM   #1
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,274
Rewards Points: 8
Share |
Default

Not good at calculations


I have a heat strip from a central unit HVAC. The A/C part is shot and has been removed. The heat strips and fan work just fine, BUT: I have it wired up to a 30 amp breaker and it trips after about ten minutes of running. The heat strips are two parts rated at 5.0KW and 4.6KW, then there is the squirrel cage fan unit which runs good. I've beat my brains out doing calculations and am not sure I'm getting the correct one. Does this unit, based on the heat strips, require a "42" amp service, plus the fan? OUCH! This will mean going to at least a 50 amp breaker to run this in my shop. I do have a 150 amp service in there, but it's half full now, even using the 80% factor. Maybe I'll have to play "Green Acres" and plug in a #1 along with a #5, but not a #2.

Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 12:25 AM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Not good at calculations


Quote:
Originally Posted by Thurman View Post
I have a heat strip from a central unit HVAC. The A/C part is shot and has been removed. The heat strips and fan work just fine, BUT: I have it wired up to a 30 amp breaker and it trips after about ten minutes of running. The heat strips are two parts rated at 5.0KW and 4.6KW, then there is the squirrel cage fan unit which runs good. I've beat my brains out doing calculations and am not sure I'm getting the correct one. Does this unit, based on the heat strips, require a "42" amp service, plus the fan? OUCH! This will mean going to at least a 50 amp breaker to run this in my shop. I do have a 150 amp service in there, but it's half full now, even using the 80% factor. Maybe I'll have to play "Green Acres" and plug in a #1 along with a #5, but not a #2.
just add 5.0 and 4.6 that will result of 9.6 KW which on 240 volts you will draw at 40 amp plus what ever the motor draw will add to the figures and normally this is pretty much continous load so you will defenity need 50 amp breaker with #6 conductor otherwise there is other option you can disabled second heat bank to reduce down to 5 KW which you can get by with 30 amp breaker without issue.

So you have two options what you need to do with this unit as I describing.

Merci.
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 07:44 AM   #3
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,274
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Not good at calculations


Well Thank You Sir for the info. This falls into the area I had roughly figured, but was not sure on. I had not thought about using just one set of coils. That's a good thought, if this will heat the shop up any, at all. Based on what I have now--nothing, this would be an improvement. I now have options to try this two ways, and the means to do so----Safely. Thanks, David
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 08:30 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Not good at calculations


1/2 of 150 is 75, even at the 100% instead of 80%, you should probably have enough power available in the panel for a 50A breaker, shouldn't you? Like you said, it should probably be around 42A max anyhow, not the full 50 but they don't make a 42A breaker, you must go to 50A.
JPraski is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't find good laminate comparison anywhere cpsilo1 Flooring 3 03-20-2011 04:49 PM
Where can I find good contractor and building material suppliers? geordge Green Home Improvement 3 03-11-2009 11:11 AM
Where can I find good contractor and building material suppliers? denniis Off Topic 5 03-10-2009 09:27 AM
Recommendations for a good corded and/or cordless drill jimmyfloyd Tools 15 11-30-2008 11:20 AM
Looks like a good Christmas this year! leroyme Off Topic 6 12-23-2007 10:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.