Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2013, 08:52 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pa.
Posts: 110
Share |
Default

Not getting 120 volts from hot to neutral, but 120 from hot to ground


Looks like PACIFIC REFERENCE was missed. Gave me a chuckle

pokey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to pokey For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (05-11-2013)
Old 05-13-2013, 10:26 AM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Coral Springs, FL
Posts: 6
Default

Not getting 120 volts from hot to neutral, but 120 from hot to ground


Marc: I don’t see anywhere on the package the letters “GFCI”.

I bought this house over a year ago which was flipped (previous foreclosure) and it appears an amateur such as myself did some wiring in the kitchen. The wire colors coming into the box could be misleading. Perhaps the pictures will shed some light on what I’m doing. There is a blue wire (top of box) that measure 120 volts in which I added two connectors, one for the on/off switch (disposal) and one for the outlet. I want constant power to the outlet. Three wires come from the disposal (lower part of the box) hot, neutral and ground. The black and white from top of box have NO power and where they come from is unknown. I don’t remember how they were wired.
Attached Thumbnails
Not getting 120 volts from hot to neutral, but 120 from hot to ground-outlet.jpg   Not getting 120 volts from hot to neutral, but 120 from hot to ground-disposal.jpg  
Jimmi328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 10:52 AM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Coral Springs, FL
Posts: 6
Default

Not getting 120 volts from hot to neutral, but 120 from hot to ground


Also, I didn’t mention an additional issue because I wanted to keep my questions simple as possible.

First, my garbage disposal never worked and I assumed it was fried; now I think the problem was circuitry.

On the opposite wall in the kitchen there is an outlet which I will call “outlet 2”. This switch has a built in circuit breaker and this circuitry is on a 20 amp fuse. When I would flip the switch for the disposal, I would here a click from outlet 2. When I reset this outlet it worked again. Again what puzzles me is the additional two white and black wires that have no power going to them.
Attached Thumbnails
Not getting 120 volts from hot to neutral, but 120 from hot to ground-outlet2.jpg  
Jimmi328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 11:15 AM   #19
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,410
Default

Not getting 120 volts from hot to neutral, but 120 from hot to ground


Based on what I see I think you should get some professional help with these electrical problems. There is more wrong than right in those pics. Even the type of wire nut is wrong.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
Oso954 (05-13-2013)
Old 05-13-2013, 11:34 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

Not getting 120 volts from hot to neutral, but 120 from hot to ground


which of these wire were attached to the switch?
Attached Thumbnails
Not getting 120 volts from hot to neutral, but 120 from hot to ground-outlet.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 07:41 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 14
Default

Not getting 120 volts from hot to neutral, but 120 from hot to ground


With a mess like you have there's also a chance some moron wired a ground to neutral some where. All with wires need to be separated, buzzed out and rewired. If you don't have that expertise, please get a real electrician.
db3058 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 02:21 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Coral Springs, FL
Posts: 6
Default

Not getting 120 volts from hot to neutral, but 120 from hot to ground


Hammerlane: Thanks for taking the time to look at this.

A wire and K wire run off of J wire (hot); I hooked up A wire and K wire to the hot terminals of the switch and outlet.
D wire and B wire connects to the neutral terminals on the outlet.
E wire can connect to either terminal on the switch.
H and F wires connects to the ground (green) terminals on the switch and outlet. G is the ground wire from the disposal.
“I wire” is a green wire that comes from in between the drywall and box (don’t know why) and I believe this is ground. F wire is ground and attaches to back of metal box.

Interesting though; when I used the ground wires in place of the B neutral wire, both switch (disposal) and outlet worked as it should. Yes, possibly ground was wired to a neutral somewhere. I assume if I swapped the ground for neutral to make my devices operational, I may create an unsafe situation.

Is there a reasonably priced device available to locate or trace a wire in two different areas in a house? When I used to be in the computer field we used something called a “Fox and Hound”.
Attached Thumbnails
Not getting 120 volts from hot to neutral, but 120 from hot to ground-switchbox.jpg   Not getting 120 volts from hot to neutral, but 120 from hot to ground-outletswitch.jpg  
Jimmi328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 05:35 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,379
Default

Not getting 120 volts from hot to neutral, but 120 from hot to ground


[QUOTE= I swapped the ground for neutral to make my devices operational, I may create an unsafe situation.



Definately NOT reccommendded !
This should be rectified ASAP !

There's a good reason why this is not approved,
If for any reason the neutral line becomes faulty or open circuit,
Then everything that is grounded (washing machine) becomes fully live !
Quite dangerous !
Please fix asap !

Last edited by dmxtothemax; 05-14-2013 at 10:27 PM.
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 09:00 PM   #24
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,410
Default

Not getting 120 volts from hot to neutral, but 120 from hot to ground


A fox and hound could help you trace the wires.

The ground will function in place of a neutral. However, it is not safe for it to carry the current as it could energize parts of the system that are not meant to be hot. The ground should only carry current in the event of a fault.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 12:29 PM
Main Breaker Panels - Neutral vs. Earth Ground TomM141 Electrical 3 02-03-2013 05:17 PM
Why can't you connect Ground/Neutral bus bars on a sub secutanudu Electrical 42 11-07-2012 01:33 PM
50 Amps for a garage help IcyShadowz Electrical 48 05-31-2012 10:58 PM
Nuetral from feeder cable to main panel question? TW Lucas Electrical 14 05-08-2008 11:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.