Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-01-2011, 09:39 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Not enough electricity to run appliances


My daughter just bought a house. It was inspected and the inspector said the wiring was great. However, they notice that when the microwave runs it starts out good then immediately seems to lower power. They plugged in an Edenpure heater last night and couldn't draw enough power for it to run. Does anyone know what causes this to happen? Did they get screwed by the inspector?? Thanks for any help.

oumom4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 09:41 AM   #2
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 701
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Not enough electricity to run appliances


call your power company. it sounds like you may have a loose neutral

Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 10:08 AM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,695
Rewards Points: 2,188
Default

Not enough electricity to run appliances


Does this happen all over the house or just on one circuit? All over the house signals a problem either in your panel or in the power company wiring. If only one circuit the problem is either a bad splice or connection in the circuit or panel.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
SD515 (10-02-2011), whatsup (10-01-2011)
Old 10-01-2011, 10:33 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,965
Rewards Points: 2,026
Default

Not enough electricity to run appliances


A typical electrical inspection is visual. They do a spot check for amateurish attempts to repair or extend wiring, deterioration, obsolete parts, damage from overloading, and insufficient overall capacity.

The inspector might not do a load test (perhaps using voltmeter and hair dryer) which is needed to make the problem you describe show up. Turning on just a few lights might not make the problem show up.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 06:00 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: south carolina
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Not enough electricity to run appliances


Check connection at receptacles and panel for tightness, Loose connections represent 80% of my service business. rookies! Turn off power, IF YOUR NOT A SEASONED PROFESSIONAL!

Last edited by whatsup; 10-01-2011 at 06:02 PM. Reason: SAFETY
whatsup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 09:57 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,593
Rewards Points: 2,146
Default

Not enough electricity to run appliances


Quote:
Originally Posted by oumom4 View Post
My daughter just bought a house. It was inspected and the inspector said the wiring was great. However, they notice that when the microwave runs it starts out good then immediately seems to lower power. They plugged in an Edenpure heater last night and couldn't draw enough power for it to run. Does anyone know what causes this to happen? Did they get screwed by the inspector?? Thanks for any help.
The inspector did not test the system under heavy load !
You most likely have a bad/loose connection somewhere,
Or pocos system is short on power.
These types of things dont show up on test,
unless there is a solid load on the system.
So my guess is he just put a volt meter on it,
And because there was probably only a light load
on the system at that point, the fault was not clearly evident.
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 11:08 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,283
Rewards Points: 564
Default

Not enough electricity to run appliances


That is your typical home inspection. Got a home warranty from realtor?
bobelectric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 12:00 PM   #8
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,281
Rewards Points: 2,224
Default

Not enough electricity to run appliances


Inspector did not screw up. Before she even finalized the contract, there should have been an electrician tp inspect everything.

Now, at this point, her hands are tied and it will be really gard for any recourse againts the original sellers, unless it was a bank and she is on her own.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 12:05 PM   #9
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,281
Rewards Points: 2,224
Default

Not enough electricity to run appliances


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric
That is your typical home inspection. Got a home warranty from realtor?
Warranties are only good to wipe yoir rear with. What she needs to do, is lawyer up. And as for the OP stating that the Poco is using the excuse of being short on power, is more on the lines that they do not care.

If the POCO does not take care of their end, they will be there, when the house catches on fire, if the problem becomes really bad, or it causes problems with their system, due to how it will cause load problems on the distribution system.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 12:30 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,965
Rewards Points: 2,026
Default

Not enough electricity to run appliances


The electric company never runs out of power for just a few houses, that kind of voltage drop would be due to a defect in the lines.

Running out of power shows up a a brownout that affects almost everyone in the neighborhood if not in the town and the voltage is just a little low (like less than ten percent). Or running out of power results in some areas being blacked out using automatic sensors and switches.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 01:09 PM   #11
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,281
Rewards Points: 2,224
Default

Not enough electricity to run appliances


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
A typical electrical inspection is visual. They do a spot check for amateurish attempts to repair or extend wiring, deterioration, obsolete parts, damage from overloading, and insufficient overall capacity.

The inspector might not do a load test (perhaps using voltmeter and hair dryer) which is needed to make the problem you describe show up. Turning on just a few lights might not make the problem show up.
Problem is, a lot of those that got into home inspection at the downturn, are green, and do not know a lot of this stuff, nor do they think that they should take the risk. Home Inspection is one of those areas that those doing it, should not take short cuts, just so they can collect a paycheck.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 01:12 PM   #12
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,281
Rewards Points: 2,224
Default

Not enough electricity to run appliances


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
The electric company never runs out of power for just a few houses, that kind of voltage drop would be due to a defect in the lines.

Running out of power shows up a a brownout that affects almost everyone in the neighborhood if not in the town and the voltage is just a little low (like less than ten percent). Or running out of power results in some areas being blacked out using automatic sensors and switches.
Before Ameren took over CILCO (Central Il. Light & Gas Co.), the distribution system was so bad, that brownouts were notorious, and still are with their system. To prove to CILCO, that we had a problem with our house, we hooked up a meter and took hourly readings for a couple of days, then after giving that to them, they fixed the problem.

I am with you Allan, whoever the OP spoke with at the utility, is blowing smoke, and should not even be tasked with working for them, if they do not know how the service works.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using the correct fuses in appliances? razorcut Electrical 2 06-11-2011 09:38 AM
European Appliances... A Question of Amps and Watts??? Dazzlin Electrical 3 08-09-2010 09:06 AM
No electricity in half the room (somewhat complicated) jimbob8690 Electrical 1 07-13-2010 03:23 PM
New stainless appliances poolecw Appliances 2 12-04-2008 02:23 PM
Are European appliances really that much better? home_improver Appliances 2 09-30-2008 06:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.