Not Bonded?! Need Your Help, - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2009, 07:32 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Not bonded?! Need your help,


Needs some expert review of current setup. I don't believe my neutral and ground are bonded at either main service panel(outside about 15 ft from houst) and panel at house(sub). Three wires come from outside meter/pole about 15 ft overhead to house then to subpanel(main lug).

Where should I bond neutral bar at , the house subpanel?

1st pic - old meter service panel (with spider webs) 60 amp fuses . I can't see any bonding of ground....three wires from top are from service lines from street.




2nd pic - main(sub) in house. Neutral and ground not bonded here either, three wires from outside (old main box) go to this box...rats nest. I have a new main panel to trade out in near future.




thanks for your feedback

Advertisement


Last edited by rugby1; 03-17-2009 at 08:43 PM.
rugby1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 07:37 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Not bonded?! Need your help,


Pics are too small for these "old" eyes Then when I zoomed it got blurry.

Advertisement

wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 08:06 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,002
Rewards Points: 506
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Not bonded?! Need your help,


Pictures are definitely too small, post some bigger pictures please!
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 08:36 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Not bonded?! Need your help,


trying to......frustration for sure!
rugby1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 08:49 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Not bonded?! Need your help,


ttt - ok fixed pics
rugby1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 08:53 PM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Not bonded?! Need your help,


Everything looks good, at the disconnect I can see the ground rods tied to the neutral conductor, ( I'm assuming this is a service rated disconnect.)
as far as the panel inside, your neutrals and grounds have to stay separate. They are using the conduit as the grounding conductor.

Last edited by chris75; 03-17-2009 at 09:00 PM.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 09:12 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Not bonded?! Need your help,


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Everything looks good, at the disconnect I can see the ground rods tied to the neutral conductor, ( I'm assuming this is a service rated disconnect.)
as far as the panel inside, your neutrals and grounds have to stay separate. They are using the conduit as the grounding conductor.
Chris75, how can you tell that the service panel is bonded? When I look at it, there is a ground wire going to a one rod next to pole, but i do not see where the neutral is bonded to ground or panel... Thanks for the response, i just want to understand.

nevermind, i follow now.... the three wires in the lower center..
one is from the service from streen
one is going to the house
one is going to the ground.

got it! Thanks

Last edited by rugby1; 03-17-2009 at 09:15 PM.
rugby1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 09:14 PM   #8
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Not bonded?! Need your help,


Quote:
Originally Posted by rugby1 View Post
Chris75, how can you tell that the service panel is bonded? When I look at it, there is a ground wire going to a one rod next to pole, but i do not see where the neutral is bonded to ground or panel... Thanks for the response, i just want to understand.


Well, thats kind of why I was assuming this was a service rated disconnect, but you'll just have to look more closely to see if the neutral is indeed bonded to that disconnect can. I cant tell from the picture how those 3 lugs are fastened to the can. One thing you can do is check for continuity between the 3 lugs and the can.

Last edited by chris75; 03-17-2009 at 09:17 PM.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 09:25 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Not bonded?! Need your help,


thanks Chris75, i'm clear (see earlier post).

One more question, can I change out fuses to 100 amp? and if so, what do I need to change down stream? I have a 100 amp panel to replace house panel.
rugby1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 09:30 PM   #10
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Not bonded?! Need your help,


That whole setup is due for retirement... change out the disconnect and the panel. Gonna have to kill the power first, so a call the power company is needed.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2009, 07:24 AM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Not bonded?! Need your help,


Quote:
Originally Posted by rugby1 View Post

One more question, can I change out fuses to 100 amp? and if so, what do I need to change down stream? I have a 100 amp panel to replace house panel.
That is a 60A disconnect. 100A fuses are physically larger.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2009, 09:11 AM   #12
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Not bonded?! Need your help,


Does anyone else find it interesting to see a service this old and yet still not just totally buggered up by years of hack abuse? Someone apparently replaced the original panel with a breaker panel in the not-too-distant past, and did a OK job, especially in the area of recognizing ground/neutral bonding issues.

What I mean by this, is that when I come across a system this old, or modified, it has been subject to 50 years of handyman/jackleg "upgrades" and is unusable. Sure 60 A is a little small, but overall there is not a thing wrong with this service. Surprising.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2009, 10:43 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Not bonded?! Need your help,


I would like to replace the three wires coming from the Service disconnect, spanning about 15 ft to house overhead, into service head
and down to the house panel.
What size wire would I use for 60 amp? I need to do this as a temporary tune up since the current wires are basically bare and severly weathered at the service disconnect. At the service disconnect, they exit a service head and are spliced to other gray wires that cover the span.

Thanks for feedback so far. Feeling better for now about current setup. I do plan on having expert relocate and up service to 100 amp when $ are available.
rugby1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2009, 07:26 PM   #14
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Not bonded?! Need your help,


Quote:
Originally Posted by rugby1 View Post
I would like to replace the three wires coming from the Service disconnect, spanning about 15 ft to house overhead, into service head
and down to the house panel.
What size wire would I use for 60 amp? I need to do this as a temporary tune up since the current wires are basically bare and severly weathered at the service disconnect. At the service disconnect, they exit a service head and are spliced to other gray wires that cover the span.
DO NOT do this. Replace it all or leave it alone.

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resin Bonded Aggregate pjmason61 Building & Construction 1 11-23-2008 07:15 AM
Electricity to barn Sherdogmma2010 Electrical 12 09-05-2008 07:29 PM
Outlet neutral bonded to ground? rjniles Electrical 1 07-19-2008 12:12 PM
How do panels get their amperage rating? Randell Tarin Electrical 14 01-23-2008 07:10 PM
Licensed, Bonded, & Insured - Question gieriscm General DIY Discussions 3 08-24-2005 02:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts