Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-05-2010, 09:11 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

Non-working outlet...


I have two non-working outlets, one in each bathroom. One has a GFI plug and the other has a standard outlet. I'm assuming that one is first in the circuit and that it continues to the second outlet, where the wires stop.

I swapped out the GFI for a standard outlet to test, still no power. So I tried a second standard outlet, no power. I swapped out breakers, still no power.

No power isn't entirely true, when I measure it with a meter it slowly climbs to about 20v. So if it's not the outlet and not the breaker, what else could it be?

I've checked the standard outlet in the second bathroom and it seems to be wired correct. Can any offer any suggestions? Thanks
cdc3jj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 09:14 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 272
Default

Non-working outlet...


Look for another GFCI receptacle somewhere that might be feeding these two.
__________________
Willis
williswires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 09:23 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Non-working outlet...


We only have the one. Just checked the whole house.
cdc3jj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 09:25 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Default

Non-working outlet...


EDIT I thought you said bedroom, my mistake. I would check the wiring inside each box and the panel.
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.

Last edited by Proby; 08-05-2010 at 09:29 PM.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 09:26 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,472
Default

Non-working outlet...


Check the breaker.

It must be turned off then back on to reset.
A new gfci will not reset without incoming power.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 09:28 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Non-working outlet...


There is only the single receptacle in each room. The bathroom is directly across a hallway from the breaker box, and there is a breaker labeled GFI that cuts the 20v to 0 when flipped. This has to be the circuit for the bathroom.
cdc3jj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 09:29 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Non-working outlet...


By the way, the house was built in the early 80's. It uses the little half size breakers.
cdc3jj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 09:32 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,472
Default

Non-working outlet...


Check for a loose or missing neutral wire.
Check the panel first.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 02:48 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Non-working outlet...


All neutral wires are present, although when I plugged a lamp in earlier it was flickering.
cdc3jj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 03:12 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Non-working outlet...


Checked the breaker with a meter and it's reading 124v. The outlet is also reading 124v but it's flickering when I plug a lamp in.
cdc3jj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 05:57 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Non-working outlet...


Well, as it would turn out, the single receptacle on our back deck was first in the circuit going to the bathroom. It makes absolutly no sense seeing as how the breaker box was directly across the hall from our bathroom and the deck outlet wasn't anywhere near the bathroom, in a waterproof box or a GFI, but that's how it is. The outlet had rusted down to almost nothing on the back deck. Hooked everything up using standard receptacles and it's working like it should. Going to Lowe's to find a water-proof box for the deck and an appropriate outlet. Thanks for your help, glad this problem is resolved and our renovations can proceed.
cdc3jj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 08:37 AM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,472
Default

Non-working outlet...


Glad you found the problem.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a GFCI Outdoor Outlet from an Inside Outlet - Parallel or Series? Pacal Electrical 28 11-13-2010 03:36 PM
Outlet not working, reading "open ground" syren Electrical 3 04-19-2010 04:20 PM
Exterior 50 Amp RV Outlet theatretch85 Electrical 9 11-04-2009 11:07 PM
washer/dryer frying my outlet dontwannadiy Electrical 15 07-27-2009 11:52 PM
Adding additional outlet. Pigtail four sets of wires? svanhess Electrical 5 07-12-2009 10:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.