Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-27-2007, 07:54 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Non-grounded outlet


I have a question...I am buying a house that has a three prong outlet that is not grounded (ground vault indicator test). What could be the reason for this? All the other outlets are OK.

jimmy v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 09:31 PM   #2
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Non-grounded outlet


What is a "ground vault indicator test"? Need more info...could just be a loose connection of the ground wires in the circuit before it gets to those outlets.

Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 10:12 PM   #3
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Non-grounded outlet


It could be a couple of things. If it is an older home, ( by older I mean 19th century) it may be knob and tube wiring. The entire system has no raceway and no ground. If it is a home of more recent vintage, it may be a receptacle that has a loose or disconnected ground. Or it may be a DIY job that was botched along the way. Open it up and look into it. Let us know what you find.
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2007, 06:49 AM   #4
waiting for spring
 
arichard21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern NY
Posts: 171
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Non-grounded outlet


Check the ground connection. Some people like to just twist the grounds together with no crimp or wirenut.
arichard21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2007, 08:47 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,964
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

Non-grounded outlet


1. Flexible metal sheathed cable (such as BX) with two conductors inside is often passed off as grounded but it is not unusual for the bonding to be lost because the ends of the cables were not adequately clamped onto the junction boxes.

2. Twisted-only ground wires from Romex cables were common even into the late 20'th century. (My house was built in 1985 and has this.) Supposedly there were "twister tools" to get a better bond than hand twisting although I would not say that everyone used them.
AllanJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2007, 11:49 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

Non-grounded outlet


You may have only two conductors feeding the outlet. Maybe someone put in three prong and only had two wires. Look inside the box.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plugging power cord in a non-grounded outlet sil Electrical 4 10-18-2007 12:23 PM
Wiring a switch, power from outlet Big Bill Electrical 4 09-15-2007 03:59 PM
20a Outlet Vs. 15a Outlet bobo Electrical 3 05-29-2006 10:55 PM
Adding garage outlet Shane Electrical 1 02-23-2006 04:43 PM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 08:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.