Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-31-2011, 08:38 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,296
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default

no switch for motion detector flood light


i was wondering if it is legal to not have an indoor switch for a flood light that has a switch on it and a motion detected on/off.

thanks

amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 08:53 PM   #2
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

no switch for motion detector flood light


A switch is not required, yet it is a good idea. Not only can you turn it off when not needed, you use the switch to make it stay on when you want it to.

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (10-31-2011)
Old 10-31-2011, 09:06 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,296
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default

no switch for motion detector flood light


you can actually do that on most fixtures as well.
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 09:19 PM   #4
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

no switch for motion detector flood light


amakarevic...do you mean a disconnect for the fixture or a switch to override the motion detector?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 09:32 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,296
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default

no switch for motion detector flood light


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
amakarevic...do you mean a disconnect for the fixture or a switch to override the motion detector?
disconnect for the fixture -- i haven't seen a fixture that would allow a switch to override its motion detector
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 09:38 PM   #6
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

no switch for motion detector flood light


A disconnect isn't a bad idea, it most often occurs when a regular fixture is changed to a motion detector type.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 11:10 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 75
Default

no switch for motion detector flood light


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
disconnect for the fixture -- i haven't seen a fixture that would allow a switch to override its motion detector
The two motion detectors we have allow the switch the override the motion detector. Turn ON-OFF-ON within 3 seconds allows the light to stay on as long as you want. When you turn it OFF and back ON, it resumes using the motion sensor.
brgmgb is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to brgmgb For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (11-01-2011), Code05 (11-01-2011)
Old 11-01-2011, 01:47 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,296
Rewards Points: 1,032
Default

no switch for motion detector flood light


Quote:
Originally Posted by brgmgb View Post
The two motion detectors we have allow the switch the override the motion detector. Turn ON-OFF-ON within 3 seconds allows the light to stay on as long as you want. When you turn it OFF and back ON, it resumes using the motion sensor.
that's neat. would you mind to check the brand on that light and let me know? it would be greatly appreciated.
amakarevic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 01:59 PM   #9
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

no switch for motion detector flood light


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
A switch is not required, yet it is a good idea. Not only can you turn it off when not needed, you use the switch to make it stay on when you want it to.
Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
you can actually do that on most fixtures as well.
Quote:
Originally Posted by brgmgb View Post
The two motion detectors we have allow the switch the override the motion detector. Turn ON-OFF-ON within 3 seconds allows the light to stay on as long as you want. When you turn it OFF and back ON, it resumes using the motion sensor.
Now do understand my post?
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (11-01-2011)
Old 11-01-2011, 02:01 PM   #10
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

no switch for motion detector flood light


Quote:
Originally Posted by amakarevic View Post
that's neat. would you mind to check the brand on that light and let me know? it would be greatly appreciated.
Every motion sensor light I have installed had the override feature.

Go to the store and read a few labels.

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
amakarevic (11-01-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 08:25 PM
HELP.. trouble adding light to single pole switch RickDel Electrical 13 09-09-2009 11:18 PM
Motion Light tripping GFCI? Jonobp Electrical 5 09-07-2009 08:52 PM
Confused by switch w/indicator light install... WaldenL Electrical 7 08-29-2009 10:02 AM
no power going to the light switch baseballfan Electrical 18 09-08-2008 06:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.