Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-09-2008, 06:21 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No Room in Ground Bus Bar in Box


As I continue to wire a new half bath - I have to run 2 -20 amp circuits to the breaker box. I have the space for the 2 breakers but only room for 1 ground in ground bus bar in the breaker Box. It is a mid-80's GE box; can I swap out one of the 2 bus bars for the ground wires or put in one bigger on to accomodate it?

Thanks for all your continued help with the project.

mehaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 06:34 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,002
Rewards Points: 506
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

No Room in Ground Bus Bar in Box


Actually, it is my understanding that you are allowed to put two ground wires under the same screw in a bus bar provided that they are the SAME gauge wire and its ONLY the ground. Neutral wires I believe must all be under their own screw in the bus bar.

theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 10:14 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

No Room in Ground Bus Bar in Box


Neutrals have to be under their own lug. Most panels' listings allow multiple (often three) grounds under the same lug, provided they're of the same wire gauge. So, you might be able to combine some grounds to make some room. Or just combine the two new grounds under the same lug, provided the panel's listing allows it. The sticker on the panel cover will often have that information.

Neutrals and grounds do not ever go under the same lug.

It is usually possible to add a longer ground bar to the panel. You just need to get one that is made for that specific panel. An electric supply house should be able to order it based on the model number, or they might even have it.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2008, 08:14 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No Room in Ground Bus Bar in Box


Thanks again for all the wisdom that I get from the forum.

Mary
mehaley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Temporary Genrator Ground theatretch85 Electrical 32 08-05-2008 01:05 PM
Ground question. mystery guest Electrical 5 07-24-2008 01:47 PM
Older home -- Open Ground issues, please help Toyz Electrical 1 06-15-2008 09:41 AM
Heat pump in non insulated nor heated room robdville HVAC 3 01-21-2008 03:51 PM
Subpanel feeder questions Silhanek Electrical 4 03-22-2007 07:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.