No Power To Receptacle - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2011, 04:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No power to receptacle


I have a single receptacle in my shop. It has no power but the circuit wasn't tripped. The only two services on this box are overhead lights, which work, and the receptacle. The receptacle is directly below the box, with no exposed wiring. What could it be?

Advertisement

russpowell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 04:36 PM   #2
Journeyman Wireman
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 190
Rewards Points: 150
Default

No power to receptacle


How are you testing the receptacle to determine it's not working? Do you have any testing equipment like a multi-meter or Wiggy type tester?

Could be:
bad breaker
bad connection at the receptacle
problem somewhere else that you aren't aware is part of that circuit
tripped GFCI ahead of the receptacle (located in another part of the house)
tripped breaker that doesn't look tripped.

Give us more information about what you have done to troubleshoot the problem.

Advertisement

Jupe Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 04:45 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No power to receptacle


The shop is standalone, 50 feet from the main residence. I only changed out extension cords to see if they were bad. I don't believe there is anything else up line of this. A single power source feeds to the shop from the house and there are two circuits.
russpowell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 05:09 PM   #4
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

No power to receptacle


Is the breaker that feeds the shop a 2-pole breaker? Try turning it off then back on. If your shop is being fed 240V or is a MWBC, you may have 'dropped' a leg coming from the house. Sometimes a 2-pole breaker will trip internally, but not trip the handle or the other leg.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intermittent Brief Power Outages in Half the House mac70pete Electrical 11 06-02-2011 10:35 PM
Restoring power to detached garage alexmce Electrical 4 05-31-2011 06:27 PM
Making a waterproof/weatherproof enclosures for a network camera & its power hub snowfall Building & Construction 0 05-02-2011 11:14 AM
house power supply upgrade in Australia pcd1965 Electrical 3 08-22-2009 09:17 PM
Wring for Lincoln Power Mig Welder vstoyko Electrical 17 01-15-2009 07:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts