No Power Question - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-11-2008, 09:32 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: beverly Ma
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 25
Send a message via Yahoo to fburke
Default

No power Question


The other day I was working in my shed and I went to run my chop saw and when I fired it up I got a zap and now no power in my shed.

I disconnect the run to my shed from a junction box on the side of my house and I have no continuity across any of the wires feeding the shed…in the junction box the feed is good, I even shorted all 3 together just to do a continuity test to see if I lost the hot natural or ground but nothing across an of them.

I plan on rewiring this any way (see my other post) but am curious as to why I have nothing now. Only thing I can think of is where it’s direct bury across my yard maybe there was a bad spot and the draw from my saw was too much and it melted the wires? I just think it weird that I lost all 3…

Thanks!

Advertisement

fburke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 10:05 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

No power Question


Tell us how you checked the "in the junction box the feed is good"? Did you use a meter or a lamp or something to make sure you have power there? If you know for sure you have power there, connect them back up just like they were and go into the shed and check it the same way. If nothing is plugged into any recpt in the shed, you would not get a continuity reading at the box on your house. If you get a continuity reading with everything unplugged, it should be a very high reading. in the megohms scale. In an ideal world you would read infinity. If it is the cable running from the house to the shed you will need to replace it. Since you have not tripped any breakers it sounds like the cable has opened, burned open or have been damaged in some way. Make sure you use cable designed for direct burial and protect it and the shed with the correct breaker.

Advertisement

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 02:31 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,051
Rewards Points: 504
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

No power Question


Is ther a GFCI receptacle somewhere in the shed ( should be) it may have tripped.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 02:56 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: beverly Ma
Posts: 42
Rewards Points: 25
Send a message via Yahoo to fburke
Default

No power Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by wirenut1110 View Post
Is ther a GFCI receptacle somewhere in the shed ( should be) it may have tripped.

daa i feel like a moron ....after thinking about it a little i remembered that between my shed and house there is a garden area that use to have a small pond and there is a GFI outlet there i fhouth it was direct from my house to the shed but it goes here first...shure enough the GFi was triped....presed a button and i have lights again.

so i bacisly wasted half a day over thinking the issue....

just another reason why i have to re run this

here is the current lay out...a homeower hack job...

fburke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 04:56 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

No power Question


You are running two threads at once with the same issue. If you want us to help you only use one of them. I have replied to both of your threads today alone. If you can delete one please do so......Thanks John
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I get power to a new ceiling fan? sestivers Electrical 12 04-25-2011 03:11 PM
Power inverter AndrewL Electrical 6 03-02-2008 02:43 PM
safe way to add extension to power cord sil Electrical 7 10-18-2007 10:58 PM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 02:55 PM
Partial power on same fuse! joyjam Electrical 5 07-10-2005 11:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts